Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Caedhros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 20

Old December 30th, 2016, 08:40 PM
I am trying to add a skill expertise gained on a later level of a custom class through a class special. I added the proficiency as a tag (like on level 1) but it isn't doing anything. Is there a script I could reference to try to accomplish this. I have been looking but don't see an equivalent.

It's a warrior class that gains proficiency in Insight at level 3 as an ability, but I've been coding forever and making no progress. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Last edited by Caedhros; December 31st, 2016 at 01:13 PM. Reason: clarity
Caedhros is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Caedhros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 20

Old December 31st, 2016, 01:00 PM
So I have changed the focus to the expertise in insight later in the class.

I am using the scripts from Experise and all is working except I can't get ONLY Insight to appear in the drop down box. If I remove the thieves tools language (scroll right line 8), it goes from two options (insight and thieves tools) to ALL the options ever (beyond skills). Can someone see why and offer a correction? I'm stumped.

PHP Code:
     var tagexpr as string

      
foreach pick in hero from BaseSkill where "Helper.Proficient"
        
perform eachpick.pulltags[ProfSkill.skInsight]
        
nexteach

      
if (tagis[ProfSkill.skInsight] <> 0then
        tagexpr 
"(component.BaseSkill & (" tagids[ProfSkill.skInsight" | "] & ")) | thingid.gTooThieve"
      
      
else
        
        endif

field[usrCandid1].text tagexpr 
Caedhros is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old December 31st, 2016, 01:19 PM
If you only want "one" Pick to be displayed in the dropdown box what is the point of the dropdown box?

Can you explain what you are trying to accomplish in plain English without the HL script talk? I am sorry but the script you posted does not logically make allot of sense and does not help explain what your trying to accomplish.

Re-reading your first post you are just trying to make the skill "Insight" be proficient right?

So the script on a class ability would be:
Post-Level/10000:
Code:
      ~ If we're not shown, just get out now
      doneif (tagis[Helper.ShowSpec] <> 1)
      ~ if we've been disabled, get out now
      doneif (tagis[Helper.Disable] <> 0)

      ~ Make skill Insight proficient
      perform hero.childfound[skInsight].assign[Helper.Proficient]

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Caedhros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 20

Old December 31st, 2016, 01:32 PM
That works for the first part - adding the proficiency at level 3. Thank you - I wasn't coding the assign correctly.

What I was trying to do was add Insight expertise at level 10. I just couldn't get it to work without using a drop down, which I took from the expertise script (bard). It works if you select Insight, but I can't get it to show as the only option. I am going to try to assign it like you did for proficiency, since I now know I was doing that incorrectly. Thank you!
Caedhros is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Caedhros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 20

Old December 31st, 2016, 01:38 PM
Hrm - proficiency is actually not working now. Looks like it should, and it is marked on the skill list, but doesn't actually add the proficiency bonus to the skill bonus shown on the chart. So insight is marked as proficient, but only the Wis mod is taken into account.
Caedhros is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old December 31st, 2016, 02:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caedhros View Post
Hrm - proficiency is actually not working now. Looks like it should, and it is marked on the skill list, but doesn't actually add the proficiency bonus to the skill bonus shown on the chart. So insight is marked as proficient, but only the Wis mod is taken into account.
What timing are you using? I just tested using a quick adjustment script at Post-Level/10000 and its working. Shows the +2 plus Wisdom bonus.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old December 31st, 2016, 02:15 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caedhros View Post
What I was trying to do was add Insight expertise at level 10.
Just FYI I don't play 5e at all so mentioning a class ability means very little to me.

What does "Insight Expertise" suppose to do? I know HL scripting really well but I only just "barely" know 5e....

Looking at the bard ability. Its trying to assign the Helper.ProfDouble tag to the skill. The above script logic will let you do that to a single skill Insight.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.

Last edited by ShadowChemosh; December 31st, 2016 at 02:18 PM.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Caedhros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 20

Old December 31st, 2016, 02:17 PM
seems to be working. let me check - I was using 9999...

Last edited by Caedhros; December 31st, 2016 at 02:20 PM.
Caedhros is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Caedhros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 20

Old December 31st, 2016, 02:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
Just FYI I don't play 5e at all so mentioning a class ability means very little to me.

What does "Insight Expertise" suppose to do? I know HL scripting really well but I only just "barely" know 5e....

Looking at the bard ability. Its trying to assign the Helper.ProfDouble tag to the skill. The above script logic will let you do that to a single skill Insight.
To answer your other question expertise doubles the proficiency bonus. I think you have given me a lot to work with, as I haven't tried this particular assignment before. I'm going to eat and play with it and see what I can come up with. Thanks for the pointers!
Caedhros is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old December 31st, 2016, 02:23 PM
Sweet! Happy new year!

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.