Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Zaran
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14

Old February 9th, 2016, 02:54 PM
Is it so much to ask to just have things like Custom Racial Mod, Custom Feat, Custom Domain , Custom Feature, etc in each entry so I don't have to learn how to code the editor?
Zaran is offline   #31
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old February 9th, 2016, 04:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaran View Post
Is it so much to ask to just have things like Custom Racial Mod, Custom Feat, Custom Domain , Custom Feature, etc in each entry so I don't have to learn how to code the editor?
Simply put yes. This has come up before and the issue comes back to the "more" specific and "easy" you make the Editor the less useful it actually becomes.

This is true for all software that you restrict the abilities down to a button press means that you can't REALLY do everything you need to do. The HL Editor and really the authoring kit is VERY flexible in what it lets you create. This does mean it has a higher learning curve.

On the other side those coming already from d20 or Pathfinder are will find the Editor and its "Things" very familiar and can jump right in.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #32
Zaran
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14

Old February 10th, 2016, 12:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
Simply put yes. This has come up before and the issue comes back to the "more" specific and "easy" you make the Editor the less useful it actually becomes.

This is true for all software that you restrict the abilities down to a button press means that you can't REALLY do everything you need to do. The HL Editor and really the authoring kit is VERY flexible in what it lets you create. This does mean it has a higher learning curve.

On the other side those coming already from d20 or Pathfinder are will find the Editor and its "Things" very familiar and can jump right in.
How do I add a free feat at first level?
Zaran is offline   #33
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old February 10th, 2016, 12:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaran View Post
How do I add a free feat at first level?
Is this the human variant thing? Please note I know NOTHING about 5e. Well I know 3.5 and Pathfinder so I "sort" of get 5e.

See if THIS thread where I gave a solution for a variant human picking a "bonus feat" was given.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #34
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old February 10th, 2016, 01:01 PM
So I actually forgot about it, but it turns out there is an easier way to do the bonus feat thing than adding a configurable. We had it working when we first were setting up the 5e system as a Subrace of human called "Variant Human" that bootstrapped 2 racial specials. On the Subrace, add the following eval script to set all the humans stat bonus fields to 0 and add a free skill proficiency:

First 500
Code:
      ~ If we're disabled, do nothing
      doneif (tagis[Helper.Disable] <> 0)

      hero.child[RaceHelper].field[cSkillMax].value += 1
      hero.child[RaceHelper].field[cSkCandExp].text = "TRUE"

      ~overwrite the human's default +1 to everything
      hero.child[rHuman].field[rSTR].value = 0
      hero.child[rHuman].field[rDEX].value = 0
      hero.child[rHuman].field[rCON].value = 0
      hero.child[rHuman].field[rINT].value = 0
      hero.child[rHuman].field[rWIS].value = 0
      hero.child[rHuman].field[rCHA].value = 0
The first racial special is to let the user select two attributes to get back the +1 bonuses. Give it two selectors which pick among the attributes, and the following eval script:

PreAttr 5000
Code:
      ~ If we're disabled, do nothing
      doneif (tagis[Helper.Disable] <> 0)

      if (field[usrChosen1].ischosen <> 0) then
        field[usrChosen1].chosen.field[aStartMod].value += 1
        perform field[usrChosen1].chosen.assign[Custom.AttrUp]
        endif

      if (field[usrChosen2].ischosen <> 0) then
        field[usrChosen2].chosen.field[aStartMod].value += 1
        perform field[usrChosen1].chosen.assign[Custom.AttrUp]
        endif
And this Eval Rule to make sure the same attribute is not selected by both selectors:

Validation 10000
Message: You must choose two different ability scores!
Code:
      validif (field[usrChosen1].ischosen + field[usrChosen2].ischosen < 2)
      validif (field[usrChosen1].chosen.tagcount[Custom.AttrUp] < 2)
      validif (field[usrChosen2].chosen.tagcount[Custom.AttrUp] < 2)
The second racial ability is called Feat. It has this eval script:

PostLevel 10000
Code:
      ~ If we're disabled, do nothing
      doneif (tagis[Helper.Disable] <> 0)

      #resmax[resFeatRac] += 1
Aaron is offline   #35
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,294

Old February 10th, 2016, 01:11 PM
How do you do this?

Quote:
Give it two selectors which pick among the attributes.
daplunk is offline   #36
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old February 10th, 2016, 01:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
So I actually forgot about it, but it turns out there is an easier way to do the bonus feat thing than adding a configurable.
If the "race" has the ability to select Feats than yes that is a better way of handling the issue.

At the same time the power and flexibility of HL is shown in the example as multiple ways to solve a problem.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #37
Dervish
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 130

Old February 10th, 2016, 02:21 PM
trying to get assassin together trying to get the assassin bonus proficiency to work

Code:
~If we are disabled,do nothing
      doneif (tagis[Helper.Disable] <>0)
      
      perform hero.assign[ProfTool.gKitDisgui]
      perform hero.assign[ProfTool.gKitPoison]

But when i save and use the assassin i have created in my editor it does not show it under tools proficiencies am i missing something?
Dervish is offline   #38
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,793

Old February 10th, 2016, 09:18 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by daplunk View Post
How do you do this?
Select the racial special, scroll down to the "Item Selection" section, and for the "Selects from" dropdown, pick the "Attributes" option, and for "Restrict First List to" choose "All Picks on Hero". Do the same for the second selector directly below that.
Aaron is offline   #39
DMG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 195

Old February 14th, 2016, 11:21 PM
I'm going to put my belated 2c in here... Paying full price & being told to essentially put in the data yourself? No thanks. It's like buying a dictionary & then finding only a few words have been printed to use as templates & the other 1000 pages are blank.

This was virtually a guaranteed insta-buy for me, but I'm glad I didn't.

And I'm not pointing the finger squarely at Lone Wolf here, either. I know they've been hamstrung by WotC.

I suppose I'm just disappointed, that's all.
DMG is offline   #40
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.