Please fix this!
Apologies for the pseudo-rant that follows. ShadowChemosh cleared this up for me in a following post, and I explained in my reply why I was making the error so that hopefully others can not make the same ones.
This has been a known issue for at least 4 months now (there's a post in a thread devoted to this topic from February 4th).
(Before I go farther, let me clarify that this is
not a problem with being able to select spells higher than level 0 - I've got that figured out).
My reading of this ability is that I can learn an additional spell
every time I level up by taking this option. I can't find anything in the FAQ with an alternate interpretation, there's no indication anywhere that I can find that states you can only take this option once per spell level. If I'm misreading the FC option, I'll apologize most profusely when the correct reading is pointed out to me . . .
- At levels 1, 2 & 3 I can learn an new Cantrip.
- At levels 4 and 5 I can learn a new 1st level spell.
- At levels 6 and 7 I can learn a new 2nd level spell.
So I made a 6th level Sorcerer, took this ability four times:
- Level 3 - Level 0 Spell
- Level 4 - Level 1 Spell
- Level 5 - Level 1 Spell
- Level 6 - Level 2 Spell
By my reckoning, that should give me 8 Cantrips (7 +1), 6 1st level spells (4 +2), 3 2nd level spells (2 +1), and 1 3rd level spell.
But instead, I get an error message indicating that I should not have taken this option for an additional 1st level spell (at level 5), HL gives me only 3 "Activated Abilities" on the In Play tab (there should be 4), and HL gives me only 5 1st level spells.
Changing my option at Level 4 to a Level 0 spell makes no difference in the number of spells HL grants at each level, nor in the number of "Activated Abilities" HL grants on the In Play tab. And I still get the error message, but now it's red for 0 level spell instead of 1st level spells.