Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Frodie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,747

Old August 28th, 2015, 11:21 AM
Yep Shadow, that's what I am trying to do. Just make the new feat seem like the old feat for pre-reqs on other feats and abilities.

I don't think it's a bug, I can understand why they would tag it that way. You can gain an armor proficiency for other things besides just a feat.

I messed around with the timing so maybe it will not be such a "hack"

I did

Code:
 pre-levels 10000
perform hero.assign[Hero.ProfLight]
then the loop (it still needed light/medium/heavy)

Code:
Pre-levels 10100

foreach pick in hero from BaseArmor where "ArmorClass.Light"
    perform eachpick.delete[Helper.Proficient]
nexteach
Now it will not "grey-out" the armor in the light category, just give you an error after it selected. That fine, it'll work. When I first started all this, I just looked to see if the armor was greyed out or not. That was my bad. Anyways, hopefully this will not be as bad of a hack.
Frodie is offline   #21 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,214

Old August 28th, 2015, 12:03 PM
I'd say the proper solution is a replacement of the medium armor proficiency, so that the prereq is

Code:
tagis[Hero.ProfLight] + #hasfeat[whatever light armor's Id is] <> 0
Mathias is offline   #22 Reply With Quote
Frodie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,747

Old August 28th, 2015, 12:12 PM
I'm not sure I follow, I can't change the pre-req on core feats that require an armor prof. That will work for anything I add, but as far as I know, there is no way to replace a pre-req on something that is already in HL.

What I have works, it's not perfect, but gets the job done. Hopefully the adjusted timing will hold up in the future. Thanks again yall.

Last edited by Frodie; August 28th, 2015 at 12:49 PM.
Frodie is offline   #23 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old August 28th, 2015, 12:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
I'd say the proper solution is a replacement of the medium armor proficiency, so that the prereq is

Code:
tagis[Hero.ProfLight] + #hasfeat[whatever light armor's Id is] <> 0
I would agree in any system other than Pathfinder. LW makes such amazing changes to the way Things work in Pathfinder that doing a "Replace Thing ID" is 100 times more dangerous than doing a "Hack" of the tags.

I learned this the hard way in my own house rules data file. I never EVER use Replace Thing ID anymore . It has such a good chance for the very next patch coming out with new features that the old version of Replace Thing ID does not have and you get errors.

Add in the the fact that Frodie's Addon is going out to a large group of people and Replace Thing ID becomes even more dangerous. What if a the group already has a Replace Thing ID for Medium Armor Proficiency in a .user file. Now HL goes into safe mode and you get stuck with nasty emails about how your addon broke there system.

Last issue is he would be forced to do this for EVERY armor like feat. Including ones from other packages outside of the CORE. With Replace Thing ID in effect that means the addon is now going to require these other packages to even load.

One step further would be what about 3PP feats that where coded to mimic off of "Arcane Armor Training"? How are they going to work now? So many unknowns that he is better off with a solution that will work 99% of the time.

I have allot of respect for your ideas Mathias. I am just trying to make sure you see this from the view of NOT having access to the skeletal files. Not even having access to ALL the different Feats that are running in HL.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #24 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.