Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

EightBitz

Old November 4th, 2016, 11:50 PM
There was a recent post by Rob where he indicated there was an upcoming export feature for XML, and if nothing else, this would allow us to print. This offers the possibility that we'll have to roll our own print formatting. Not something I'm thrilled about, but hey, I'll take what I can get.

I've been poking around with XML features in PowerShell, and some of it is easier than I thought it would be while some of it is still a bit frustrating. I'm not a professional programmer, but I dabble, and I know there are others who wish to print, so I'm sharing what I'm learning in my struggles. If anyone else with more programming experience wishes to chime in, I'm all for that.

If you're going to follow along with me, I suggest loading the PowerShell ISE. It's not installed by default, but you can install it through the "Add or remove programs" control panel and selecting "Turn Windows Features on or off." Find "PowerShell ISE", and select it. (I'm assuming you're using Windows 8 or Windows 10.)

And just to clarify, this isn't meant to be an in-depth, comprehensive tutorial. I'm learning as I go, so this is a very basic introduction for myself that I'm sharing with you.

First of all, importing an XML file into PowerShell as an XML object is rather easy. To practice, I'm working with a Hero Lab portfolio, hence my variable name in the following code snippet. I'm also using a Mutants and Masterminds 3E portfolio with multiple characters.

(Paste this in the top half of the ISE window.)
Code:
[xml]$Portfolio = Get-Content -Path <filename>
That's it. That loads the file as an XML object. Click the green play button to run the script.