Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ErinRigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 621

Old November 18th, 2016, 12:56 PM
I was wondering if this is even possible? Essentially, there are a few magic items that grant feats, such as Gloves of the Balanced Hands and Bracers of the Blinding Strike. Is there a way to code the item to grant the feat?
ErinRigh is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old November 20th, 2016, 10:28 AM
Yep. In these cases I would suggest doing proof of concept testing. Bootstrap away and see what happens.

The issue you will most likely find is that when something is bootstrapped to the Pick that it also becomes live always. Meaning you bootstrap fDodge to a Ring and no matter if the ring is equipped or not the fDodge feat is displayed.

In this case you need to bootstrap conditionally. Check out that article by Mathias for full details.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
ErinRigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 621

Old November 26th, 2016, 01:38 AM
All well and good, I am stuck on this problem, I know, I am a P.I.T.A.

I read Mathias' article, but the actual code to do this is eluding me.

What I am trying to do is bootstrap "Improved Initiative" to a pair of bracers so that when they are equipped, you gain the benefits of improved initiative.

Any help here would make me erect shrines your honour, and even sacrifice virgins to you!
ErinRigh is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old November 26th, 2016, 09:01 AM
Ok so what have you done and what have you tried? What errors are you getting?

Have you looked at the fields of your equipment and then equipped/un-equipped it to see which field or fields change?

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
ErinRigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 621

Old November 26th, 2016, 03:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
Ok so what have you done and what have you tried? What errors are you getting?

Have you looked at the fields of your equipment and then equipped/un-equipped it to see which field or fields change?
Actually, I am in the dugout and can't find my way to the plate. I don't even know where to begin. Mathias' words make sense individually, but put 'em together and I come up with nonsense. I am so lost!
ErinRigh is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Sendric
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,147

Old November 27th, 2016, 04:35 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErinRigh View Post
Actually, I am in the dugout and can't find my way to the plate. I don't even know where to begin. Mathias' words make sense individually, but put 'em together and I come up with nonsense. I am so lost!
The idea is to bootstrap the feat to the item. Then you need to create a bootstrap condition so that the feat only shows up when worn. There are lots of wondrous items who use scripts or conditions in this manner. I don't have HL in front of me, but you should be able to look at other items to see what field you need to use. Then you can use that field to set your condition like this:

fieldval:field <> 0
Sendric is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old November 27th, 2016, 08:43 AM
Here is the important part to focus on from the article. oh pretty much repeat of what Sendric just said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
When making a bootstrap conditional, first, test this ability without the condition - make sure you've got everything working, and make sure it's adding the bootstrap all the time, and that the bootstrapped thing or things are all showing up correctly.

In the editor, press the "Bootstraps" button at the top right - find the bootstrap you want to make conditional, and press the "Condition..." button.

Code:
fieldval:Field <> 0
What you have to do is find the "Field" that you need to replace in the expression above.

Add your item to your character. Then RIGHT click on the "?" field and select "Show Debug Fields". Then equip the item and unequip the item. Which field is changing? What are the values?

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
ErinRigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 621

Old November 27th, 2016, 11:31 AM
Ok, maybe this is starting to make sense, tanks guys!

So if I'm reading right, I need to create a magic item, bootstrap Improved Initiative (fImpInit), then set the condition as follows;

fieldval:glsEquip <> 0

is that correct?

If so, I am getting this error;

Hero Lab was forced to stop compilation after the following errors were detected:

Syntax error in 'bootstrap #1 condition' tag expression for Thing 'ioTEST'
-> Non-existent field 'glsEquip' referenced by tag expression

NM I Figured this out PEBKAC error, I for l

Last edited by ErinRigh; November 27th, 2016 at 11:47 AM.
ErinRigh is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old November 27th, 2016, 11:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErinRigh View Post
NM I Figured this out PEBKAC error, I for l
Yeah small I & L are not easily told apart because of the font set that HL uses. That got me MANY times!

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
ErinRigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 621

Old November 27th, 2016, 12:00 PM
OK New error;

Hero Lab was forced to stop compilation after the following errors were detected:

Thing 'ioBracEpSt' - Condition phase/priority (UserPostAt/10000) for bootstrap thing 'fImpInit' occurs after earliest rule/script (First/10999)

any idea what gives?
ErinRigh is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.