• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

Tyrnid 1+ saves

  • Thread starter Thread starter richard.j2.lonski at mail
  • Start date Start date
R

richard.j2.lonski at mail

Guest
After reviewing the codex, everywhere that I find a reference to
extended carapace in the mutations section, it states a new armor save
for the mutant with extended carapace, not that extended carapace
gives a +1 save.

Example: a 'gaunt with extended carapace gets a 5+ save, not a +1
save to it's standard 6+ save.

A Hive Tyrant gets a 2+ save, not a +1 to it's standard 3+ save.

Now this may be splitting hairs, but to me it means that you can take
extended carapace for a 2+ save, or warp blast for a 2+ save, but they
do not combine for a 1+ save.

Extended Carapace is the Artificer/Chaos armor of the Tyrnids and it
gives them a +1 save over their natural armor, but doesn't combine
with a psychic ability. You can take both and get 2 2+ saves, but you
only get to use one at a time.

Does anyone else agree with this?

Because of this, I think the way extended carapace is defined needs to
be changed (or not allowed to be taken with Warp Field).


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-~>
Make good on the promise you made at graduation to keep
in touch. Classmates.com has over 14 million registered
high school alumni--chances are you'll find your friends!
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l3joGB/DMUCAA/4ihDAA/IfNVlB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------_->
 
At 16:09 13/03/2001 +0000, you wrote:
>After reviewing the codex, everywhere that I find a reference to
>extended carapace in the mutations section, it states a new armor save
>for the mutant with extended carapace, not that extended carapace
>gives a +1 save.
>
>Example: a 'gaunt with extended carapace gets a 5+ save, not a +1
>save to it's standard 6+ save.
>
>A Hive Tyrant gets a 2+ save, not a +1 to it's standard 3+ save.
>
>Now this may be splitting hairs, but to me it means that you can take
>extended carapace for a 2+ save, or warp blast for a 2+ save, but they
>do not combine for a 1+ save.
>
>Extended Carapace is the Artificer/Chaos armor of the Tyrnids and it
>gives them a +1 save over their natural armor, but doesn't combine
>with a psychic ability. You can take both and get 2 2+ saves, but you
>only get to use one at a time.
>
>Does anyone else agree with this?
>
>Because of this, I think the way extended carapace is defined needs to
>be changed (or not allowed to be taken with Warp Field).

IIRC this is fixed in the latest version of the files.


--
'Not Colin' McAlister - License to Skrill
Email: demandred@skrill.org | Visit http://www.skrill.org/ today!
-----------------------------+------------------------------------
"Dovie'andi se tovya sagain" - Robert Jordan's Wheel Of Time


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-~>
Make good on the promise you made at graduation to keep
in touch. Classmates.com has over 14 million registered
high school alumni--chances are you'll find your friends!
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l3joGB/DMUCAA/4ihDAA/IfNVlB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------_->
 
--- In armybuilder@y..., Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@s...>
wrote:
> At 16:09 13/03/2001 +0000, you wrote:
> >After reviewing the codex, everywhere that I find a reference to
> >extended carapace in the mutations section, it states a new armor
save
> >for the mutant with extended carapace, not that extended carapace
> >gives a +1 save.
> >
> >Example: a 'gaunt with extended carapace gets a 5+ save, not a +1
> >save to it's standard 6+ save.
> >
> >A Hive Tyrant gets a 2+ save, not a +1 to it's standard 3+ save.
> >
> >Now this may be splitting hairs, but to me it means that you can
take
> >extended carapace for a 2+ save, or warp blast for a 2+ save, but
they
> >do not combine for a 1+ save.
> >
> >Extended Carapace is the Artificer/Chaos armor of the Tyrnids and
it
> >gives them a +1 save over their natural armor, but doesn't combine
> >with a psychic ability. You can take both and get 2 2+ saves, but
you
> >only get to use one at a time.
> >
> >Does anyone else agree with this?
> >
> >Because of this, I think the way extended carapace is defined needs
to
> >be changed (or not allowed to be taken with Warp Field).
>
> IIRC this is fixed in the latest version of the files.


So you're saying my rant was completely
unnecessry....errrr......*sheepishly* okay.

Thanks


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-~>
Make good on the promise you made at graduation to keep
in touch. Classmates.com has over 14 million registered
high school alumni--chances are you'll find your friends!
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l3joGB/DMUCAA/4ihDAA/IfNVlB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------_->
 
Back
Top