• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

Rime Spell feat & Icicle Dagger spell

ruhar

Well-known member
I don't know if my question should go here or on Paizo/Pathfinder forum so I'm going to post to both.

I have a player who created a 6th level Summoner with Rime Spell feat and chose the Icicle Dagger spell. He created two Favorite Metamagic Spells: "Icicle Dagger, Rime" and "Snowball, Rime." There is a validation alert for the "Icicle Dagger, Rime" that says, "Spell must deal Cold damage." When I delete the "Icicle Dagger, Rime" from the Favorite Metamagic Spells the alert goes away. I told my player that he needs to look at it and adjust his character. He argues that Hero Lab doesn't recognize that the Icicle Dagger spell does indeed cause "cold damage" for terms of the Rime Spell feat. I don't think the Icicle Dagger spell can be used as a Rime Spell because the Icicle Dagger spell not only deals 1 point of cold damage but it also deals normal dagger damage. I told him I would check into it. So what do all of you think? Is Hero Lab broken or am I right that Icicle Dagger spell can't be used as a Rime spell because it also does normal damage?

Thanks.
Ruhar

P.S. Please no discussion about GMs having final ruling. I want to be fair and check with the Lone Wolf & Paizo community.
 
In this case, I believe the player is correct. The spell in question has the [Cold] descriptor so it should apply. The feat specifically says any spell with the [Cold] descriptor. Since it is a first level spell, the entangled effect would last for 1 round. Please submit a bug report through the following thread:


http://www.wolflair.com/report-pathfinder-bug/
 
Last edited:
The relevant text from the feat follows:

"A rime spell causes creatures that takes cold damage from the spell to become entangled for a number of rounds equal to the original level of the spell."

Nowhere does it say that the spell must deal only cold damage, just that is must deal cold damage. Icicle dagger does 1d4 piercing and 1 cold, so by my reading it passes that test.

"This spell only affects spells with the Cold Descriptor"

Icicle Dagger does have [Cold], so it passes this test as well.

My reading is that your player is correct, and we are currently wrong. I'll get it fixed for the next release.
 
Back
Top