• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

Potions must be of touch range spells?

I tried to select a potion of Enlarge Person, and discovered a new restriction that I've never seen before. HL is now telling me that "normally only touch range spells are brewed into potions" and showing that such a potion is not legal. (As usual it lets me do it anyway, but flags it as an error.) I can find no such rule in Pathfinder. Where did this come from?
 
It doesn't flag it as an error (at least not in mine) it's just saying that normally touch range spells are made into potions.
 
Yeah, I rechecked and it isn't flagging, but when I use the "legal" filter it is removed. A minor annoyance, but a major curiosity. This was never a rule before, so I am wondering where HL came up with it.
 
Yeah, I rechecked and it isn't flagging, but when I use the "legal" filter it is removed. A minor annoyance, but a major curiosity. This was never a rule before, so I am wondering where HL came up with it.
Actually this has existed sense 3.5 days. Not sure about 3.0.

PFRPG Craft Potions - "The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target. Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions."

3.5 Craft Potions - "The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target. Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions."

This is one of those nice things about HL. It lets you know about those obscure rules. :)
 
That's not what I was referring to. I was talking about potions of spells like Reduce Person, which have a range of close or greater (ie, not personal but also not touch). Those have always been legal potions. Today is the first time I've ever seen HL tell me they aren't, and I believe that HL is incorrect in this.
 
That's not what I was referring to. I was talking about potions of spells like Reduce Person, which have a range of close or greater (ie, not personal but also not touch). Those have always been legal potions. Today is the first time I've ever seen HL tell me they aren't, and I believe that HL is incorrect in this.
Blah for some reason you said "Enlarge Person" I kept reading "Shield" which is personal. :(

You are correct that if it says Potion of Enlarge Person is not valid then that is wrong. In matter of fact Potion of Enlarge Person is one of the examples from the CORE book on random potions treasure.
 
Back
Top