• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

M&M 3rd ed. 'Permanent' Flaw

Why doesn't the Permanent flaw, when added to a sustained effect (Growth, for example), lower the cost by -1/level? I can't find any reason it shouldn't in the rules -- am I missing something?

And speaking of Growth, are there plans to fix the 'Limited to Increasing Size Only' flaw?
 
Alright: sorry. Went and confused myself. The core rulebook does specifically say that the Permanent flaw, when applied to Growth, is a "+0 cost per rank" flaw.

What I should have asked is: why does the Permanent Flaw work the same way for other sustained-duration effects (Concealment is a good example) when it claims to be "-1 cost per rank" when listed elsewhere?
 
As per the description of Permanent, "A continuous effect with this flaw becomes permanent in duration."

So an effect that starts out as Sustained has to have the Increased Duration Extra applied to it (as +1 cost per rank) to make it Continuous before the Permanent Flaw can be applied to it (at -1 cost per rank, for a net +0).

This could really be explained better in the book, but it is consistent.
 
As per the description of Permanent, "A continuous effect with this flaw becomes permanent in duration."

So an effect that starts out as Sustained has to have the Increased Duration Extra applied to it (as +1 cost per rank) to make it Continuous before the Permanent Flaw can be applied to it (at -1 cost per rank, for a net +0).

This could really be explained better in the book, but it is consistent.

Ah. That explains it. I tried it on an instant power, too, and the math seemed to work out, but what was actually taking place was not clear.

Thanks, though.
 
Back
Top