• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

Ninjas get the new hornbow? Why?

RAW vs RAI dude! Arrows are not listed as a thrown weapon in Pathfinder! :eek: :D

But you know what IS a thrown weapon? Alchemist bombs. Last weekend the Gnomish Alchemist who plays my game got a nasty surprise when he tried to throw his bombs at the Monk boss.
 
Arrows are not "thrown" weapons and the feat specifically says "thrown" weapons can be thrown back. So not only no sneak attack but no attack at all. :D :) :p

I will raise you "Throw Back Arrows" feat from the Ranged Tactics Toolbox, thus the Steak attack applies.
 
Well, to me a "nerf" is when common practice is significantly altered such that a given activity that was considered overpowered is weakened to the point of being useless (or almost useless).

If HL is allowing anyone with bow proficiency to use a hornbow (and many people consider HL to be canonical, including my GM), then I think it qualifies as a nerf.

So what you're saying is that when Herolab gets something wrong, and in this case it did. Paizo has to change it's rules to conform?!

Lone Wolf does not write the rules to Pathfinder. Paizo does. Ergo, Herolab does not define cannocial rules for the game. When the two are in variance, it is Lone Wolf's mistake, not Paizo's.
 
I wasn't commenting on where the error lies. I was talking about the definition of "nerf". I take no position on where the mistake lies.
 
To be fair, Paizo's not exactly known for their clear and unambiguous language. I certainly wouldn't have interpreted the text as-written here to mean free exotic proficiency [hornbow] for anyone who has any type of bow proficiency, but I've been on the wrong end of ambiguous wording debates plenty of times, so I get it.
 
I doubt it was a deliberate choice on our end - we just have a simple "counts as" mechanism for weapons, so setting the hornbow to count as shortbows and longbows for other things probably just carried proficiency along with that. I don't think we're set up yet for a distinction as to what our weapon mechanism's "counts as" does and doesn't apply to.
 
Back
Top