• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

More L5R Questions from Rob...

rob

Administrator
Staff member
I need an answer to another question please....

Bugs have NOT been properly inherited within the new L5R files because I
simply didn't know about it. But I need to understand exactly HOW the
inheriting needs to work. Do bugs only get inherited forward? Or should
they inherit both directions? For example, I know that a Block Supply Lines
from Diamond should inherit Jade and Gold bugs. However, should a Jade
version of the card inherit Gold and Diamond bugs? This seems like it
should be correct, since the older card ought to still be legal in the new
formats. Right?

Thanks, Rob

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (559) 658-6995
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for Your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at Myinks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l.m7sD/LIdGAA/qnsNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->
 
--- Rob Bowes <rob@wolflair.com> wrote:
> I need an answer to another question please....
>
> Bugs have NOT been properly inherited within the new L5R files
> because I
> simply didn't know about it. But I need to understand exactly HOW
> the
> inheriting needs to work. Do bugs only get inherited forward? Or
> should
> they inherit both directions? For example, I know that a Block
> Supply Lines
> from Diamond should inherit Jade and Gold bugs. However, should a
> Jade
> version of the card inherit Gold and Diamond bugs? This seems like
> it
> should be correct, since the older card ought to still be legal in
> the new
> formats. Right?

Please note that the L5R database has two separate values:
"Tournament" and "Bug". Bugs do not migrate. An MRP which is Diamond
bugged only should not migrate backwards, because the older cards did
not physically have the bug. That's why MRPs exist.

The Tournament value exists for exactly that, I think. To allow old
cards to gain a value that renders them legal for current
tournaments, when a new reprint is included in a new set.

Example:

Block Supply Lines (BSL) originally did not have any bug. The
Imperial Edition version should not have anything. Then a Gold
version is published, with the Gold bug. BSL should have the Gold
bug, and the value "Gold" in the tournament field.

When a new BSL is published in Diamond, it has only the Diamond bug.
The new MRP should include a replacement for the Bug field saying
"Diamond", but the Tournament field is different. Diamond should be
*added* to the previous value, so that someone searching for
Gold-tournament legal cards (for nostalgia tournaments, for example)
can find BSL.

At least I think that's how it works

BTW, today is Kick Abilio day. Kindly disregard my last message, it's
3 am here and I was asleep. Yes I can see the Tournament info in the
Inventory just fine. Dumb me

Abilio

> Thanks, Rob
>
>
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (559)
> 658-6995
> Lone Wolf Development
> www.wolflair.com
>
>
> ------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> cardvault-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
> http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
>
>


__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! SiteBuilder - Free, easy-to-use web site design software
http://sitebuilder.yahoo.com

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for Your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at Myinks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l.m7sD/LIdGAA/qnsNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->
 
>Please note that the L5R database has two separate values:
>"Tournament" and "Bug". Bugs do not migrate. An MRP which is Diamond
>bugged only should not migrate backwards, because the older cards
did
>not physically have the bug. That's why MRPs exist.

Partially Correct.

I'm going to use an example from a recent card.. Lets use Egg of P'an
Ku.

Egg of P'an Ku was released in Imperial. Re-released during the Jade
Environment, Removed from Gold, Re-released during Diamond.

So Bug status would be:
Jade, Diamond

Tournament Status would be:
Open, Jade, Diamond

Given the rule of MRPs, all cards that have been Re-released are said
to carry the new traits.. So when Egg is re-released in Diamond, it
will carry the "bugs": Jade, Diamond, as well as any additional text.

In a manner of speaking, MRPs are a way to go back in time and Change
older cards. In my opinion, yes, the Imperial Edition Egg of P'an Ku
inside the CV database should hold the bugs "Jade, Diamond". Even
though the card was not printed with those bugs, it has been MRP'd to
have those 2 arc bugs.

That is, if you don't decide to add a separate "Tournament Legal"
type field.

If you do add a 2nd field, I would suggest keeping the bugs as they
were printed (so that the Imperial Ed. version has No Bugs) and have
the tournament field work as Jimmy said. "Open, Jade, Diamond".

-Luke


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for Your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at Myinks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l.m7sD/LIdGAA/qnsNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->
 
--- Jimmy Jinx <jimmy_jinx@yahoo.com> wrote:
> Please note that the L5R database has two separate values:
> "Tournament" and "Bug". Bugs do not migrate. An MRP which is Diamond
> bugged only should not migrate backwards, because the older cards did
> not physically have the bug. That's why MRPs exist.
>
> The Tournament value exists for exactly that, I think. To allow old
> cards to gain a value that renders them legal for current
> tournaments, when a new reprint is included in a new set.

That was the idea. The Bug value is there to identify the card, the tournament
value is used to validate which cards can be used in what tournament. Once a
Diamond version of a card comes out, the older versions of the card should gain
the Diamond tournament tag, but not the bug.


=====
---

Kuni Tetsu
Clan War rules guy
Moderator of ClanWar-l

__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! SiteBuilder - Free, easy-to-use web site design software
http://sitebuilder.yahoo.com

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for Your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at Myinks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l.m7sD/LIdGAA/qnsNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->
 
At 07:33 PM 8/22/2003 -0700, you wrote:

>--- Jimmy Jinx <jimmy_jinx@yahoo.com> wrote:
> > Please note that the L5R database has two separate values:
> > "Tournament" and "Bug". Bugs do not migrate. An MRP which is Diamond
> > bugged only should not migrate backwards, because the older cards did
> > not physically have the bug. That's why MRPs exist.
> >
> > The Tournament value exists for exactly that, I think. To allow old
> > cards to gain a value that renders them legal for current
> > tournaments, when a new reprint is included in a new set.
>
>That was the idea. The Bug value is there to identify the card, the tournament
>value is used to validate which cards can be used in what tournament. Once a
>Diamond version of a card comes out, the older versions of the card should
>gain
>the Diamond tournament tag, but not the bug.

The specific mechanics were going to be my next question to you Bob, so
thanks for clearing it up before I asked it!

I'll get this fixed in the next update to the files....

-Rob

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (559) 658-6995
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Ink Cartridges or Refill Kits for Your HP, Epson, Canon or Lexmark
Printer at Myinks.com. Free s/h on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/l.m7sD/LIdGAA/qnsNAA/WuQolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->
 
Back
Top