• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

How do I track a charge used on a spell, more details inside

Senko

Well-known member
I'm trying to make an item that has 3 charges a day and 2 spells that can be used. Use spell A and it consumes a charge, use spell B and it consumes a second one.

I've got most of this working spells, charges per day etc but I can't seem to link them. That is if I look at the item on a character I see . . .

Under "tracked resources"
<0/3> Item (3/day)
Under "In Play" - "Tracked Resources"
0/3 item (3/day)

then further down under "In Play" - "Item Spells"
0/3 Beastspeak
0/3 Non-Detection

Which is where I hit my issue I can't figure out how to link the 0/3 of item spells to the 0/3 of tracked resources so when I increase the tracked resource value it affects item uses but no spells like so . . .


Under "tracked resources"
<1/3> Item (3/day)
Under "In Play" - "Tracked Resources"
1/3 item (3/day)

then further down under "In Play" - "Item Spells"
0/3 Beastspeak
0/3 Non-Detection

Whereas what I want is . . .


Under "tracked resources"
<1/3> Item (3/day)
Under "In Play" - "Tracked Resources"
1/3 item (3/day)

then further down under "In Play" - "Item Spells"
1/3 Beastspeak
1/3 Non-Detection

I know it can be done as the wands function like this but I can't see any special scripting in them I can adapt to do this. So can anyone explain to me how I can set it up so the spell count increases along with the tracked resources?
 
The better analogy is staff spells, or even more like your example, the "Heavenly Aegis Ring", which has 2 spells and a shared pool of charges to cast them - the ChargeUse tag group.
 
Those both have the same issue. They have two values e.g. for heavenly aegis ring its . . .

Under "In Play" - "Tracked Resources"
0/10 Heavenly Aegis Ring

then further down under "In Play" - "Item Spells"
0/1 Holy Smite
0/10 Magic Circle against evil

increasing the usage under tracked resources and abilities does not affect the item spells e.g. increasing usage to 10 gets you . . .

Under "In Play" - "Tracked Resources"
10/10 Heavenly Aegis Ring

then further down under "In Play" - "Item Spells"
0/1 Holy Smite
0/10 Magic Circle against evil

unless I'm misunderstanding something and the value next to spells is never meant to change?
 
Could you use screenshots, please, rather than text? I'm having trouble understanding what you're trying to show.


You're also not specific about which item you are "increasing the usage" on - the way you're writing it, it looks as though you're marking off charges on the ring, rather than casting the spells directly.
 
Sorry I'm not being clear, attached two screenshots showing what I'm talking about. The black circles are around the tracked resources that change together e.g. change the 6 in tracked resources to 4 and and its reflected in the inplay one on the right. The one that never changes from a zero is the one in the red circle for each spell sepcifically. Image 3 shows the two relevant in place values in close up and you can see the item charges used are showing 6 but the two spells still show 0/1 and 0/10 respectively. That 0 never seems to change regardless of what I do.
 

Attachments

  • Image 1.jpg
    Image 1.jpg
    264.1 KB · Views: 8
  • Image 2.jpg
    Image 2.jpg
    270.7 KB · Views: 8
  • Image 3.png
    Image 3.png
    149.4 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:
All of those screenshots show the in-play tab. Are you only changing the number of charges used on the ring itself? What happens when you change the number of charges used on one of the spells - that should change the ring's charges, too, and should alter the other spell as well.
 
Ohhhh I've never even noticed that equiping these items creates a "spells tab" seperate from the tracked resources. Thank you so much for your help, I'll see if I can get my item to work with that one thanks.

EDIT
Got it working now I know how that works, thanks again for your patience and help.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top