• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

DE / VC bugs

mmckeddie

Member
A dark elf master should be able to be equiped with the Dagger of Hotek and the Beastmaster Scourge (the dagger allows the master to have a mundane hand weapon in addition and the scourge counts as a mundane hand weapon)

In warbands rules you should be able to take a single base of spirit hosts instead of 3.
 
for the scourge, that doesnt sound right... why would the scourge make the magic weapon attacks armor piercing?? it may be the "letter" of teh rules but i dont think its right...

i will fix the warband thing, thx
 
for the scourge, that doesnt sound right... why would the scourge make the magic weapon attacks armor piercing?? it may be the "letter" of teh rules but i dont think its right...
Because Warhammer does not distinguish between attacks made by a normal hand weapon and attacks made by a magical one. In all cases so far, when a character has multiple weapon effects for some reason (Choppa and xhw, for example, or Crone Hellebron's two magic weapons) the effects combine for all attacks.

Also, forgive me for saying so, but isn't the role you volunteered for to facilitate people in creating lists that adhere to the letter of the rules?
 
Last edited:
No the letter does not. "An additional had weapon" is singular; you can have exactly one of them: Even if you were somehow equipped with two, it is clearly cheating to attempt to use all three without a special rule. More specifically, the only rule which grants an extra attack for having two hand weapons is exclusive to two hand weapons; there is no "three hand weapon rule" thus I would submit that the letter of the rules could be read as having three HW gives no extra attacks.
 
Last edited:
hmm... i guess i can see how you would argue it either way, since the dagger of hotek says "the bearer gains the always strikes first rule", and not "this weapon always strikes first". i'll try to fix this if I can.
 
ok 2 problems, firstly i cant figure out a good way to do this :~(

secondly, im not sure that it should be allowed after all, because of the 'cant take a magic weapon w/ a normal wpn' rule. you cant take a great weapon with the dagger of hotek and switch between them, so i dont think you can take the scourge anyway?

either way it doesnt matter because i cant figure out how to make it work, so you will have to just ignore the error, sry :~)
 
The Dagger specifies that you can take it with an normal hand weapon when it calls itself "an additional hand weapon" - the whole point of the dagger is that you can take it with a regular pointy-stick and still use it.
You are right about the great Weapon though - you must use a magical weapon if you have one and you aren't normally allowed to use a magic weapon with a mundane and the dagger only overrides the second bit. Combined with the two-handed nature of Great Weapons, you can't therefore use it with the dagger and because the dagger is magic, you can't use a GW instead of it.
The Scourge, however, is a "normal hand weapon" only with the additional property of Armour Piercing (or whatever) and not a Great Weapon, which would require two hands and make the selection impossible.

Anyway, I am unfortunately unable to provide much in the way of actual help, since I know very little about the specifics of how AB does things, but maybe if you described what the problem is in general terms?
 
the two hands thing doesnt matter. the rule is, that if you have a magic weapon, u cant take a normal wpn, even if you didnt want to use them together. you cant take an extra hand weapon and magic sword - same reason you cant take a whip and a magic sword, or a whip and this specific dagger
 
First, the rule says you can't use a normal weapon, not that you can't spend points on it and carry it around for whatever reason (e.g. if you expect to lose your magic toy to a spell or something) and second, this specific dagger overrides that rule, that being the whole point of the thing.
 
Just discovered another DE warbands problem. A Black Guard champion (tower master) contributes to the maximum you can spend on characters (150pts) even if he is not selected as the commander.
 
Back
Top