• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

Warriors of Chaos released!!

The Book of Secrets DOES grant access to Arcane Items; it has in the past, and the FAQ rather specifically states the character becomes a Wizard.

Actually that's not true. A character with the BoS only "Counts As" a Wizard, he doesn't "Become" a Wizard. It doesn't give him a Magic Level, which means he generates no Power or Dispel Dice of his own. He can use the Communal Dice Pool "in the same manner as a Level 1 Wizard", but he is not a Level 1 Wizard. Compare it to the High Elf "Radiant Gem of Hoeth" that specifies "Level 1 High Elf Mage" in it's description. As only Wizards have access to Arcane Items, he cannot be given them.
 
Chaos warhounds are able to have two upgrades. poisoned attacks-3pts/model and scaly skin-1pt/model. Currently there aren't any upgrades.
 
Ok, so if I've gone in to the file and fixed four things: Poisoned attacks and scaly skin for Warhounds, BSB for Exhalted champion, cost for Book of Secrets and cost for Crimson Armour - is there any use to that? Can it be sent to someone or is there a master file that's being updated? TB
 
Just to add another error ( i think) Dragon Ogre Shaggoth is 295 points in the data file Im pretty sure its 265 points (from memory, not near my book right now).
 
I've also changed (in my files) the cost for the Dragon Ogre Shaggoth, and have the Throgg function working (Trolls are core if Throgg is in the army)
 
Actually that's not true. A character with the BoS only "Counts As" a Wizard, he doesn't "Become" a Wizard. It doesn't give him a Magic Level, which means he generates no Power or Dispel Dice of his own. He can use the Communal Dice Pool "in the same manner as a Level 1 Wizard", but he is not a Level 1 Wizard. Compare it to the High Elf "Radiant Gem of Hoeth" that specifies "Level 1 High Elf Mage" in it's description. As only Wizards have access to Arcane Items, he cannot be given them.

Try reading the Book of Secrets description again, which clearly states that he generates a Power die (thought no Dispell die).

Then try re-reading the new FAQ. One of the questions is: "Is a model with the Book of Secrets a Wizard?" to which the (short) answer is "Yes."

An exalted Hero (or Chaos Lord) with the BoS is a Wizard and can therefore use Arcane items.
 
That's why I said it's a bug. You can have 2 or 3 for one choice.

AB doesn't flag a validation error for Spawn until you try adding a fifth one at the 2000+ point level. Most army files with units that are 2-for-1 now enter those units separately, rather than taking a unit of two. Dark Elves, for example, simply select RBT's twice, rather than selecting it once and adding a 'second' model.
 
Chaos Knights can take the Blasted Standard if given the Mark of Tzeentch. Of course, Mark restrictions are largely gone from the new book.

The Book of Secrets DOES grant access to Arcane Items; it has in the past, and the FAQ rather specifically states the character becomes a Wizard. This is therefore fine in AB, aside from the (already-stated) point cost error.

Of very minor importance: Beasts of Chaos can't be selected as allies for Legendary Battles.


Okay then the error is needing to have the Mark of Tzeentch, it's not a requirement for Blasted Standard (just makes it better).
 
Ok, so if I've gone in to the file and fixed four things: Poisoned attacks and scaly skin for Warhounds, BSB for Exhalted champion, cost for Book of Secrets and cost for Crimson Armour - is there any use to that? Can it be sent to someone or is there a master file that's being updated? TB


Crimson Armour? Try fighting Blood Letters of Khorne (who all have killing blow) with out it ;-)

Also, my Lord has an Axe of Khorne, and I want to protect my Lord from others who might have it.

It also lets him take a Cannon hit to the face and only suffer a single wound.
 
That's why I said it's a bug. You can have 2 or 3 for one choice.

Yeah, but if you note, the 2 that you choose only count as 1 rare in your army composition, so it's working correctly.

3 spawn do not count as 1 rare choice-- they count as 1.5, therefore, 2.
 
I'm not arguing the composition part. What I'm arguing is that you should be able to just add another one to the same unit like you can with Salamanders or Dark Elf Bolt throwers so it just shows up once on the print out.
 
Back
Top