• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

SV: SV: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

  • Thread starter Thread starter np at tagarno.dk
  • Start date Start date
At 10:05 12/02/2001 +0100, you wrote:
> >Hmm... I wouldn't count the Hive Tyrant and his attached Tyrant Guard as a
> >"brood"; rather, they'd be two broods.
>
>And in what (rules) do you base this?
>I can find (lots of) other WH40k examples of two units
>attaching/merging/whatever to become one unit, which then affects the game
>play i various ways.
>E.g. when a independant char joins a unit of troops, the unit can be
>transported, the enemy can only shoot at the assembled unit etc. etc. In
>short: It is one unit, at least as long as the independant character
>chooses to stay with his troops. This MUST be the same case with the
>Hive Tyrans and his guards, as there is NO rules that says otherwise.

If a unit of troops can have 1 weapon per X models, and your army general
takes them as a retinue, does he count as one of the X? In general, no.

>And note: Though the Tyranid Monstereous creature rules specify, that
>monsters combines SOME of the Monsterous and Independent character rules,
>they are not Independent characters. What does I mean? Well, the rules
>states that a Monsterous creature may join another brood, but it does not
>say that it is able to leave said unit again - like the Independant
>characters can. How do we handle this in a 'friendly' game? Can a
>(single) HiveTyrant join a brood of warriors and the leve it again? Can a
>Carnifex? What if the unit is a Guard unit or even a bodyguard?
>I guess that until an official statement is released in Andys corner of
>WD, it must be up to players to agree.
>My oppinion on the matter is clear: A monsterous creature may always
>choose to leave a unit it has joined (like Independant chars') EXCEPT:
>when the creature started the game with an attached bodyguard brood (read:
>the Hive Tyrant with Guards) in which case they are bound together as a
>unit for the duration of the game.

In what rules do you base *this*?

To be pedantic, the codex says only that the Hive Tyrant attaches a unit of
Tyrant Guard. It doesn't say whether he has to be with them all game. I
can't even find anything in the 40k rule book to suggest this.

On another note, the Roolzboyz are claiming that Genofixed Species can't
have mutants. Hopefully this will be confirmed in some future White Dwarf,
and make this a moot point :)


--
'Not Colin' McAlister - License to Skrill
Email: demandred@skrill.org | Visit http://www.skrill.org/ today!
-----------------------------+------------------------------------
"Dovie'andi se tovya sagain" - Robert Jordan's Wheel Of Time


------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-~>
eGroups is now Yahoo! Groups
Click here for more details
http://click.egroups.com/1/11231/0/_/36190/_/981996755/
---------------------------------------------------------------------_->

To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 
Back
Top