• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

Magus (kensai) Spell calcs

chuffster

New member
I recently purchased hero labs and used it to do up a character sheet for a magus using the Kensai archetype. The character has INT of 16 and is a first level magus.

The sheet shows one spell per day.

By default a Magus will have one first level spell. The INT modifier of 3 gives 3 bonus spells. On a sufficiently high level magus this will be spread out with one at 1st level, one at 2nd, one at 3rd. On a first level magus this is a bonus of +3 1st level slots.

The Kensai archetype reduces available spell slots by one per level. I believe what is happening is that the program is applying this one per level reduction before it crams the spells down to the first level spell slots (i.e. it is removing the phantom second and third level spells) resulting in the presentation of one spell. I am 99% sure that according to the rules the cramdown should happen first, and a 1st level Kensai magus with 16 INT should have 3 first level slots.

Is there some way to tweak this by hand so that it shows up properly when I make a pdf out of the character sheet?
 
I am afraid you have misunderstood the rules, the bonus spells for high attributes do not "roll down" as you say when you can't cast higher level spells. You could handle this as a house rule though, using an adjustment to add extra spells memorized.
 
The magus themselves get 1 spell on level 1 + 1 from the modifier.

So right now you have 2 level one spells you are allowed to cast -1 from the kensai archetype. So you only have 1 level one spell. On your first level this is entirely correct as it is implemented.

Also if you think those spells stack from the different levels. That doesn't happen:

"In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. See individual class descriptions for additional details."
So unless you can cast those higher level spells you don't get a bonus from them. Seeing it only gives 1 bonus spell for level 1

No where on the page linked does it mention those spells normally stack if you can't cast those level spells yet. So I think you are miss understanding some parts of how this works.

Edit. Ninja-ed
 
Back
Top