• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

Digest Number 306

  • Thread starter Thread starter armybuilder at yahoogroup
  • Start date Start date
A

armybuilder at yahoogroup

Guest
------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-~>
eGroups is now Yahoo! Groups
Click here for more details
http://click.egroups.com/1/11231/0/_/36190/_/982313370/
---------------------------------------------------------------------_->

To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@egroups.com
------------------------------------------------------------------------

There are 16 messages in this issue.

Topics in this digest:

1. SV: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: "TAGARNO A/S - Niels Peter Gibe" <np@tagarno.dk>
2. RE: Strange Tyranid AB thing....
From: "Rothman, Daniel (IGNITE)" <drothman.dmth94@gtalumni.org>
3. AW: Additional Special Characters
From: "Dieter Passchier" <Dieter.Passchier@Embdena.de>
4. Re: AW: Additional Special Characters
From: Rob Bowes <rob@wolflair.com>
5. SV: RE: Strange Tyranid AB thing....
From: "TAGARNO A/S - Niels Peter Gibe" <np@tagarno.dk>
6. Re: 40k Chaos Vehicle Upgrades
From: mplonski@nc.rr.com
7. Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: "Phil Groff @ Home" <pgroff@home.com>
8. Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: "Dennis Kellogg, Jr" <extremezen@hotmail.com>
9. SV: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: "TAGARNO A/S - Niels Peter Gibe" <np@tagarno.dk>
10. Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: "Phil Groff @ Home" <pgroff@home.com>
11. Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: "Dennis Kellogg, Jr" <extremezen@hotmail.com>
12. Re: SV: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
13. Re: Re: 40k Chaos Vehicle Upgrades
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
14. Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
15. Re: [AB-Beta] For Colen : Is this right or am I doing something wrong ??!!
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
16. Re:
From: "D K" <extremezen@hotmail.com>


________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 1
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 10:11:01 +0100
From: "TAGARNO A/S - Niels Peter Gibe" <np@tagarno.dk>
Subject: SV: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

>Looks that way, yep. But would you say that if a Carnifex
>joined a brood of Tyranid Warriors that his wounds could
>be counted towards giving them mutations?

No. Let us for a moment ignore the names and types of the units and only concentrates on the game mechanics. The way I see it is:
When two units are bought as separate units, like the Carnifex and Warriors, they can first be joined AFTER the deployment phase – at then it is to late to modify their equipment etc. They will be considered being two units until they are joined. I think we can all agree on this.
When two units are joined BEFORE deployment, like a “general” and bodyguard, they do count as single unit from the start of the game. This means that restrictions with regards to the unit size are based on the size of the combined units – such restrictions includes rules such as “1 in 3 jet bikes may be equip...”, “Max 10 models can be transported...” and also the Tyranid mutation wound count rule.

Note: That I do not think that units bought together like this, that is a leader with retinue/bodyguard, may ever split up during a battle, unless specifically allowed – as it is the case with Eldar, where Warlocks can be placed with a unit of troops (which they may then not leave).
Otherwise this would just be a way to get around the max 2 HQ units rules – and I do not think that this is what the designers intended.

>If I personally had a bodyguard (let's say, for example, that GW had
>dispatched a Navy SEAL team to hunt me down for persistently taunting them)
>and I felt they could be more useful on the front lines while I cowered at
>the back, then by all means I'd send them to the front, as long as I was
>confident of my safety...

:) I don’t really see the relevance. We can all agree to that a lot of the rules aren’t logical and that you in RL might want to do something another way , that weapon ranges are way to short etc. etc. etc.
But this is a game and the challenge is to balance the races.
In case with the bodyguard, I see the way the game mechanics works, is simply to give a leader “more wounds” – so to say – so that the leader will have a chance to survive for more than a round or two.


>This would be Tyranid Tim? Where can I find his comments?

It must have been in the Tyranids group or on the mailing list. I’ll have to check up...
.
.
10 min later....
Sorry: Must have had a mental meltdown or something: I either just can’t find the darn thing or I confused it with this mail:

// Include on

>Message: 25
> Date: Mon, 12 Feb 2001 14:01:26 EST
> From: tyranid@aol.com
>Subject: Re: Re: my touney army please criticize
>
>In a message dated 2/10/01 6:47:37 PM Eastern Standard Time,
>siegehail@yahoo.it writes:

>> > Plus, the rooolboyz sent me a letter saying that only "mutable
>> genus"
>> > creatures could be mutans, no giantsize lictors for you!
>
> Nope, you can mutate them alright. It's only a matter
> of the number of wounds - you need enough to allow
> for mutations. The creature/brood's status of genofixed
> or not isn't an issue here.
>
>Tim Huckelbery
// include off


>It's because it doesn't say "Can take a bodyguard" in the mutant hive
>tyrant section...

and

>Irrelevant, the section is titled "Hive Tyrant Biomorphs" - I've just
>called it a "Mutant Hive Tyrant" for easy differentiation. Which brings up
>the question - are the sections meant to be "overlays" - that is, things
>you overlay onto existing units to modify them - or "templates" - that is,
>you start from scratch?

I must admit, that I still see a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant as being a Hive Tyrant – and thus able to do all the things a standard Hive Tyrant can do, including taking a bodyguard.
In the “Hive Tyrant Biomorph table” section descriptions such as “The Hive is a monst...”, “Hive Tyrants always have...” and “..a Hive Tyrant may...”. These descriptions must clearly be about a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant, or all this stuff would have no relevance at all – at least not in *that* section. So if this means that descriptions about a “Hive Tyrant” is valid for a “Biomorphed Hive Tyrant” then why not also allow it to have a bodyguard. After all the word in the Hive Tyrant section uses the same words: “The Hive Tyrant may be accom...” (page 10)
It will certainly not ruin game balance to allow it. If a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant isn't allowed to take a guard it will shift game balance, as a Tyranid player will no longer be able to buy the Tyrant a bodyguard at all – not only as a secondary HQ choice (to do so, he would first have to buy a Hive Tyrant with a guard, then the Biomorphed Hive Tyrant and...ups that was two HQ slots – no more room for guards).

It would be nice to get an official answer to these questions:
- Can a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant take a bodyguard of Hive Tyrant Guards?
- Do the wounds of a Hive Tyrant bodyguard count towards mutations of the Hive Tyrant?
- Is it a mistake, that the cost of a Warp Blast is not the same for a Hive Tyrant and a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant? If so, what is the correct price?
- When do we get some vehicle rules for the Tyranids? – ok, scratch that, I’ll wait... :)


Therefore I have CC'ed this mail to Tim - in the hope, that he will respond - please?

Tim: I have noted, that you haven't responded to the similar thread that runs in the Tyranid group. Why not? Is it because you don't have an official answer or will it come in Chapter approved or??
Niels Peter Gibe

TAGARNO A/S
HATTINGVEJ 5
DK-8700 HORSENS
TEL.: +45 7625 1111

WWW.TAGARNO.DK




[This message contained attachments]



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 2
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 06:44:47 -0500
From: "Rothman, Daniel (IGNITE)" <drothman.dmth94@gtalumni.org>
Subject: RE: Strange Tyranid AB thing....

because.... CJ says the Harleys can be allied into ANY army under certain
conditions (e.g. when opposing chaos). There's no specific exclusion for
'Nids, therefore, the 'nids may take Harley allies when they're fighting
chaos.

daniel

> Message: 8
> Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 08:42:00 +0100
> From: "TAGARNO A/S - Niels Peter Gibe" <np@tagarno.dk>
> Subject: Strange Tyranid AB thing....
>
> Hi Colen.
>
> I know that Harlequins are known to go their own ways, but
> please explain why they can be taken as allies to the Tyranids :)
>
> Niels Peter Gibe
>
> TAGARNO A/S
> HATTINGVEJ 5
> DK-8700 HORSENS
> TEL.: +45 7625 1111
>
> WWW.TAGARNO.DK
>
>
>
>
> [This message contained attachments]
>
>
>
> ______________________________________________________________
> __________
> ______________________________________________________________
> __________
>
>
>


________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 3
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 13:24:24 +0100
From: "Dieter Passchier" <Dieter.Passchier@Embdena.de>
Subject: AW: Additional Special Characters

If I want to use "catg:lrd" how do I type "{#race}" to tell AB that it
should only be for a specific race?

Thanks,

Dieter

-----Ursprüngliche Nachricht-----
Von: Rob Bowes [mailto:rob@wolflair.com]
Gesendet: Donnerstag, 15. Februar 2001 08:36
An: armybuilder@yahoogroups.com
Betreff: Re: [AB] Additional Special Characters


Absolutely yes. Simply create a separate data file and put your new
characters in there. You can model them after the existing special
characters and link to all the same (standard) equipment options and items
that you want. When you import updates to the core data files, you will
need to make sure that the checkbox is UNchecked so that your custom file
is not deleted. For safety, I recommend keeping a copy of the file in a
separate folder, just in case an accident occurs while importing. :-)

Thanks, Rob


At 08:32 AM 2/15/01 +0100, you wrote:
>Hello!
>
>I don´t know if this was asked before. If so, please bear with me.
>
>I want to make homemade special characters (for Warhammer that is). Can I
>make an additional data file which includes the special character(s) when I
>chose my troops for wood elves for example. I could include it in the
>original file(s) but this way it would be deleted every time there is an
>update.
>
>Thanks for any help,
>
>Dieter


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (650) 726-9689
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com



To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@egroups.com



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 4
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 04:34:29 -0800
From: Rob Bowes <rob@wolflair.com>
Subject: Re: AW: Additional Special Characters

The syntax for that is outlined in the section "Conditional Restrictions"
within the Construction Kit manual. It would look like "catg:lrd-race=zz".
Please see the docs for more details.

Thanks, Rob


At 01:24 PM 2/15/01 +0100, you wrote:
>If I want to use "catg:lrd" how do I type "{#race}" to tell AB that it
>should only be for a specific race?
>
>Thanks,
>
>Dieter


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rob Bowes (rob@wolflair.com) (650) 726-9689
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 5
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 13:48:33 +0100
From: "TAGARNO A/S - Niels Peter Gibe" <np@tagarno.dk>
Subject: SV: RE: Strange Tyranid AB thing....

>because.... CJ says the Harleys can be allied into ANY army under certain
>conditions (e.g. when opposing chaos). There's no specific exclusion for
>'Nids, therefore, the 'nids may take Harley allies when they're fighting
>chaos.

Thanx - I don't read get CJ -or rather I only have #1-~12 - so I didn't know about that one.
Even though I do find the concept of a allied Tyranid/Harlequin army strange, it would make a "funny" surprise next time I play vs. Chaos.
Could you therefore fill out the blanks a little - such as when it possible to take the harlies and if there are any other restrictions and/or special rules.

Niels Peter Gibe

TAGARNO A/S
HATTINGVEJ 5
DK-8700 HORSENS
TEL.: +45 7625 1111

WWW.TAGARNO.DK




[This message contained attachments]



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 6
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 14:27:41 -0000
From: mplonski@nc.rr.com
Subject: Re: 40k Chaos Vehicle Upgrades

> Which things disappear? The only things that appear to do this are
the
> different daemonic things, i.e. you can't have a Destroyer and Warp
Amp on
> the same vehicle. Is this the problem?

You're right. I guess I never realized that you couldn't have
Daemonic Possession and Destroyer on the same vehicle, even though
I've seen several vehicles with both. Strange.

Thanks.

Matt



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 7
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 09:32:34 -0500
From: "Phil Groff @ Home" <pgroff@home.com>
Subject: Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

Note: That I do not think that units bought together like this, that is a leader with retinue/bodyguard, may ever split up during a battle, unless specifically allowed - as it is the case with Eldar, where Warlocks can be placed with a unit of troops (which they may then not leave).
Otherwise this would just be a way to get around the max 2 HQ units rules - and I do not think that this is what the designers intended.

I agree with everything you've said, except for your interpretation of Warlocks. I don't think they can be detatched from the command squad during the game. I think you can just buy them as either part of a command squad or as leaders for particular squad, but in either case they come from the single HQ slot. Much like buying commissars in the IG or Wolf Guard in the SW.

Cheers,
Phil G.




[This message contained attachments]



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 8
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 14:40:25
From: "Dennis Kellogg, Jr" <extremezen@hotmail.com>
Subject: Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

Pg9 of Eldar Codex "Warlocks... They must EITHER remain in a unit with a
Farseer, OR they may be assigned to join a Wraithguard or Guardian squad as
indicated in the appropraite entires in the army list...."

>....I agree with everything you've said, except for your >interpretation of
>Warlocks. I don't think they can be detatched from >the command squad
>during the game. I think you can just buy them as >either part of a
>command squad or as leaders for particular squad, >but in either case they
>come from the single HQ slot. Much like >buying commissars in the IG or
>Wolf Guard in the SW.
>
>Cheers,
> Phil G.
>
>

_________________________________________________________________
Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at http://explorer.msn.com



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 9
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 15:50:27 +0100
From: "TAGARNO A/S - Niels Peter Gibe" <np@tagarno.dk>
Subject: SV: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

> I agree with everything you've said,

Nice to know I am not alone out there. I seem to be fighting a "battle" all by myself.

> except for your interpretation of Warlocks. I don't think they can be detatched from the command squad during the game.

No, They are either deployed together with the HQ or, say, with a guardian squad. It's not something that happens later in the game.

> I think you can just buy them as either part of a command squad or as
> leaders for particular squad, but in either case they come from the single
> HQ slot. Much like buying commissars in the IG or Wolf Guard in the SW.

That is exactly what I ment. Maybe I didn't write it to clear, but that was exactly what I ment. I don't play Eldar and I haven't read the codex for longer than I care to remember.
My point was, that you can't buy a bodyguard brood to your HiveTyrant, and then either deploy them alone or with a nother monsterous creature (read: Carnifex).
Buy them with a Hive Tyrant => They stay with the tyrant.
Anyway: I have asked Tim for a ruling, but I will prefer a Chapter Approved article on the matter.


Peter



[This message contained attachments]



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 10
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 10:23:52 -0500
From: "Phil Groff @ Home" <pgroff@home.com>
Subject: Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder


----- Original Message -----
From: Dennis Kellogg, Jr
To: armybuilder@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Thursday, February 15, 2001 2:40 PM
Subject: Re: SV: SV: SV: [AB] Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder


Pg9 of Eldar Codex "Warlocks... They must EITHER remain in a unit with a
Farseer, OR they may be assigned to join a Wraithguard or Guardian squad as
indicated in the appropraite entires in the army list...."

How is that in consistent with what I've said? Wy do you assume that "may be assigned to join", means "may be assigned to join in the middle of a game?" Only independet characters can behave the way you're suggesting (joining different squads during the game) and Warlock's aren't independent characters.

Phil G.

>....I agree with everything you've said, except for your >interpretation of
>Warlocks. I don't think they can be detatched from >the command squad
>during the game. I think you can just buy them as >either part of a
>command squad or as leaders for particular squad, >but in either case they
>come from the single HQ slot. Much like >buying commissars in the IG or
>Wolf Guard in the SW.
>
>Cheers,
> Phil G.
>
>

_________________________________________________________________
Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at http://explorer.msn.com



Yahoo! Groups Sponsor

www.




To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@egroups.com



[This message contained attachments]



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 11
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 16:44:39
From: "Dennis Kellogg, Jr" <extremezen@hotmail.com>
Subject: Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

I was not making a judgement either way nor was I suggesting or assuming
anything - I was just listing what was in the text of the codex. Also, I
never said that that are independant characters. According the the codex
"Warlocks are characters, but may not move on their own"
Maybe you should switch to decaf.

>How is that in consistent with what I've said? Wy do you assume that >"may
>be assigned to join", means "may be assigned to join in the >middle of a
>game?" Only independet characters can behave the way >you're suggesting
>(joining different squads during the game) and >Warlock's aren't
>independent characters.
>
>Phil G.
>

_________________________________________________________________
Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at http://explorer.msn.com



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 12
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 16:11:18 +0000
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
Subject: Re: SV: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

At 10:11 15/02/2001 +0100, you wrote:
> >Looks that way, yep. But would you say that if a Carnifex
> <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />
> >joined a brood of Tyranid Warriors that his wounds could
> >be counted towards giving them mutations?
>
>No. Let us for a moment ignore the names and types of the units and only
>concentrates on the game mechanics. The way I see it is:
>When two units are bought as separate units, like the Carnifex and
>Warriors, they can first be joined AFTER the deployment phase – at then it
>is to late to modify their equipment etc. They will be considered being
>two units until they are joined. I think we can all agree on this.
>When two units are joined BEFORE deployment, like a “general” and
>bodyguard, they do count as single unit from the start of the game. This
>means that restrictions with regards to the unit size are based on the
>size of the combined units – such restrictions includes rules such as “1
>in 3 jet bikes may be equip...”,

Whoa, I don't agree with this at all.

>“Max 10 models can be transported...”

With you on this one, though...

>and also the Tyranid mutation wound count rule.

How do you infer that from the above two situations?

>Note: That I do not think that units bought together like this, that is a
>leader with retinue/bodyguard, may ever split up during a battle, unless
>specifically allowed – as it is the case with Eldar, where Warlocks can be
>placed with a unit of troops (which they may then not leave).
> Otherwise this would just be a way to get around the max 2 HQ units
> rules – and I do not think that this is what the designers intended.

That's as may be. I still don't agree that the Hive Tyrant and bodyguard
count as one 'unit' - they're just two units which are nailed together.

> >If I personally had a bodyguard (let's say, for example, that GW had
> >dispatched a Navy SEAL team to hunt me down for persistently taunting them)
> >and I felt they could be more useful on the front lines while I cowered at
> >the back, then by all means I'd send them to the front, as long as I was
> >confident of my safety...
>
>:) I don’t really see the relevance. We can all agree to that a lot of
>the rules aren’t logical

You're not wrong there :)

>and that you in RL might want to do something another way , that weapon
>ranges are way to short etc. etc. etc.
>But this is a game and the challenge is to balance the races.
>In case with the bodyguard, I see the way the game mechanics works,
>is simply to give a leader “more wounds” – so to say – so that the
>leader will have a chance to survive for more than a round or two.

I can't think of any bodyguards who function purely as "extra wounds" -
Imperial Guard command sections can have good weapons, Dark Eldar Incubi
are well-armed and armoured, Space Marines etc. are not to be sniffed at.
Tyrant Guard are a formidable force in their own right.

>Message: 25
> > Date: Mon, 12 Feb 2001 14:01:26 EST
> > From: tyranid@aol.com
> >Subject: Re: Re: my touney army please criticize
> >
> >In a message dated 2/10/01 6:47:37 PM Eastern Standard Time,
> >siegehail@yahoo.it writes:
>
> >> > Plus, the rooolboyz sent me a letter saying that only "mutable
> >> genus"
> >> > creatures could be mutans, no giantsize lictors for you!
> >
> > Nope, you can mutate them alright. It's only a matter
> > of the number of wounds - you need enough to allow
> > for mutations. The creature/brood's status of genofixed
> > or not isn't an issue here.
> >
> >Tim Huckelbery
>// include off

Dissension within GW :)

>I must admit, that I still see a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant as being a Hive
>Tyrant – and thus able to do all the things a standard Hive Tyrant can do,
>including taking a bodyguard.

Even though he's charged different amounts for some weapons and psychic powers?

>In the “Hive Tyrant Biomorph table” section descriptions such as “The
>Hive is a monst...”, “Hive Tyrants always have...” and “..a Hive Tyrant
>may...”. These descriptions must clearly be about a Biomorphed Hive
>Tyrant, or all this stuff would have no relevance at all – at least not in
>*that* section. So if this means that descriptions about a “Hive Tyrant”
>is valid for a “Biomorphed Hive Tyrant” then why not also allow it to have
>a bodyguard. After all the word in the Hive Tyrant section uses the same
>words: “The Hive Tyrant may be accom...” (page 10)
>It will certainly not ruin game balance to allow it. If a Biomorphed Hive
>Tyrant isn't allowed to take a guard it will shift game balance, as a
>Tyranid player will no longer be able to buy the Tyrant a bodyguard at all
>– not only as a secondary HQ choice (to do so, he would first have to buy
>a Hive Tyrant with a guard, then the Biomorphed Hive Tyrant and...ups that
>was two HQ slots – no more room for guards).

Perhaps GW meant that the price of flexibility was the lack of an included
bodyguard?

>It would be nice to get an official answer to these questions:
>- Can a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant take a bodyguard of Hive Tyrant Guards?
>- Do the wounds of a Hive Tyrant bodyguard count towards mutations
>of the Hive Tyrant?
>- Is it a mistake, that the cost of a Warp Blast is not the same
>for a Hive Tyrant and a Biomorphed Hive Tyrant? If so, what is the
>correct price?
>- When do we get some vehicle rules for the Tyranids? – ok,
>scratch that, I’ll wait... :)

Yes, it would be nice to get official answers to those, and a few other
things...


--
'Not Colin' McAlister - License to Skrill
Email: demandred@skrill.org | Visit http://www.skrill.org/ today!
-----------------------------+------------------------------------
"Dovie'andi se tovya sagain" - Robert Jordan's Wheel Of Time



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 13
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 16:01:12 +0000
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
Subject: Re: Re: 40k Chaos Vehicle Upgrades

At 14:27 15/02/2001 +0000, you wrote:
> > Which things disappear? The only things that appear to do this are
>the
> > different daemonic things, i.e. you can't have a Destroyer and Warp
>Amp on
> > the same vehicle. Is this the problem?
>
>You're right. I guess I never realized that you couldn't have
>Daemonic Possession and Destroyer on the same vehicle, even though
>I've seen several vehicles with both. Strange.

Page 6 of the codex, bottom-right - "Each vehicle may only be given one
Chaos Gift."



--
'Not Colin' McAlister - License to Skrill
Email: demandred@skrill.org | Visit http://www.skrill.org/ today!
-----------------------------+------------------------------------
"Dovie'andi se tovya sagain" - Robert Jordan's Wheel Of Time



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 14
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 17:12:04 +0000
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
Subject: Re: SV: SV: SV: Re: Looking for new Tyranids codex for Army builder

At 16:44 15/02/2001 +0000, you wrote:

<snip>

> Maybe you should switch to decaf.

We'll have no trouble here.

Less of this sort of behaviour, please, it helps nobody.


--
'Not Colin' McAlister - License to Skrill
Email: demandred@skrill.org | Visit http://www.skrill.org/ today!
-----------------------------+------------------------------------
"Dovie'andi se tovya sagain" - Robert Jordan's Wheel Of Time



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 15
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 17:17:59 +0000
From: Colen 'Skrillboy' McAlister <demandred@skrill.org>
Subject: Re: [AB-Beta] For Colen : Is this right or am I doing something wrong ??!!

At 16:22 15/02/2001 +0000, you wrote:
>Hello Colen …
>
> (sorry about the wrong letter in the name before !)

I'll let you off ... THIS TIME :)

>I downloaded the 2.19 files (internal number still shows 2.18 in the
>about box in ArmyBuilder ?!)

Yeah, I forgot to change it.

>as you suggested for the fix to the
>Tyrant worriers not being able to take all of their options e.g.
>flesh hooks and implant attack. I am still not able to get both ..
>when I select one the other "grays out" ?!

Tyranid Warriors may only select two Biomorphs. You should be able to take
two of Flesh Hooks, Extended Carapace and Implant Attack.

>I also have a problem with building my Mutant Hive Tyrant :
>
>As I read the codex (and I have checked with GW support on this) you
>can give the Tyrant 8 biomorphs. You can also give him as many hive
>mind powers and Biomorph enhancements as you like.
>
>The list of Biomorphs only has eight things that can be given for the
>tyrant e.g.
>
>1. Winged
>2. Adrenal glands +1 WS
>3. Enhanced Senses +1 BS
>4. Toxin Sacs +1 S
>5. Adrenal glands +1 Init.
>6. Bio weapon 1
>7. Bio weapon 2
>8. Extended Carapace 2+ save
>
>When I try to take all of these (Ok, Ok so I am greedy) I am only
>allowed to take seven with your file ??!!

I've cc'd this to the armybuilder egroup as well, as I'd like their views
on it...

I have so far been assuming:

1) When it says "Max 8 biomorphs", things like Flesh Hooks, Implant Attack
etc. are included in the 8 - they are biomorphs, after all.

2) Weapons don't count as biomorphs.

Does anyone disagree with these assumptions? In particular I'm sure about
the second one; after all if you have to take two weapons, why bother
counting them in the 8 biomorphs - why not just say 6 biomorphs?


--
'Not Colin' McAlister - License to Skrill
Email: demandred@skrill.org | Visit http://www.skrill.org/ today!
-----------------------------+------------------------------------
"Dovie'andi se tovya sagain" - Robert Jordan's Wheel Of Time



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________

Message: 16
Date: Thu, 15 Feb 2001 17:53:24 -0000
From: "D K" <extremezen@hotmail.com>
Subject: Re:

> > Maybe you should switch to decaf.
>
>We'll have no trouble here.
>
>Less of this sort of behaviour, please, it helps nobody.
>--
>'Not Colin' McAlister - License to Skrill

Whoa, that comment was meant in jest. I was not trying to start trouble.
And if was taken that way I offer my humble apologies.





_________________________________________________________________
Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at http://explorer.msn.com



________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________
 
Back
Top