• Please note: In an effort to ensure that all of our users feel welcome on our forums, we’ve updated our forum rules. You can review the updated rules here: http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=5528.

    If a fellow Community member is not following the forum rules, please report the post by clicking the Report button (the red yield sign on the left) located on every post. This will notify the moderators directly. If you have any questions about these new rules, please contact support@wolflair.com.

    - The Lone Wolf Development Team

M&M 3rd ed. Bug

diesalher

Member
When u add a Linked power and then a power with an extra and an alternate power inside the 1st power form, the cost of the alternate power is not 1, but the complete cost
(if u do the same but not inside a linked power the cost is ok).See capure, the cost in the form below shows as 11 (1+1)*3 +1 = 11 ??


Instructions

Go to powers
Add new powers
- Linked Effects -
-Add new powers -
Damage
Add an extra
Add an alternate power in this form

(the cost shows incorrect)



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
 
I noticed the same problem and in fact came back on the board after a month's absence to report it. :)

I found a good temporary workaround is to have the alternate effects go off the whole linked power set instead of the one inside. As long as you don't make the alternates too big, the numbers all work out fine. That could hold you until there's an update that fixes it.
 
At the risk of my ignorance of M&M 3e lighting up like a neon sign ;)

...isn't there a difference between Linked Powers and Alternate Powers?

Specifically, two (or more) Powers that are Linked are meant to ALWAYS fire off together/work in tandem whereas an Alternate Power is meant to happen INSTEAD OF the "normal" Power.

Has that changed in 3e? Could that be the reason for the math being different?

Okay, now that I've shown my ignorance, I'll say "keep up the good work" and extend an early wish to all that they have a Happy Thanksgiving Day. :)

Nigel Fogg, aka The Wayfarer
 
Linked Effect said:
The Linked effects must operate at the same range.

Different Alternate Effects cannot be Linked since they can’t be used at the same time by definition.


So the fact that one alternate effect is ranged while the other is close would also force it to become invalid.
 
I think the example above is flawed enough to be confusing the issue. Arguably, items inside of a linked effect shouldn't have APs at all (since, by definition, as stated above, linked powers always go off together). I'm guessing that the use of APs as above is meant as more of a shorthand for "Yeah, he's got a Blast linked with Dazzle that has APs of Blast linked with Obscure and Blast linked with ranged Emotion Control" so that you don't keep having to create additional copies of the common Blast power.

The problem above has to do with the power points from the "AP" being treated instead as another linked power (an invalid one as noted above), probably because there's something in common in how APs and linked powers are handled and somehow it drifted from one to the other.

^_^ That said, I have no idea exactly why this is happening. Hopefully, Colen's already got it solved for the next update.
 
I think the example above is flawed enough to be confusing the issue.

Only a little, I tried to clear it up.

Arguably, items inside of a linked effect shouldn't have APs at all (since, by definition, as stated above, linked powers always go off together). I'm guessing that the use of APs as above is meant as more of a shorthand for "Yeah, he's got a Blast linked with Dazzle that has APs of Blast linked with Obscure and Blast linked with ranged Emotion Control" so that you don't keep having to create additional copies of the common Blast power.

I believe this is the case as well, however it wouldn't be allowed in RAW games so it should at least show an alert when used or have a check box in the options.
 
*grumble* Why DCA had to change a descriptive power name like "Create Object" to just "Create"... anyhow, I don't think this has been reported so far, based on a quick look at threads marked 3E with the word "Create" in them or through a quick browse of errata, but "Create" now requires an attack roll for dropping an object on someone, which means that it's now part of the attack/damage balance whereas currently Hero Lab is still treating it like an Area attack as in 2E.
 
Back
Top