![]() |
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 235
|
Yet another question. The various language rules are equal to Smarts or equal to Half Smarts etc.
But is there a way to start with that but keep the languages from increasing every-time the character raises their Smarts. In other words, starting character gets the Smarts/Half-Smarts at character creation. After that, the only way to get new languages is via buying a new language skill or something similar. I just don't like every-time character gets smarter, they automatically get a new language. |
![]() |
![]() |
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,545
|
Don't base it on Smarts directly. Grab the value, then use a trap so it only gets modified when in creation mode.
if (state.iscreate <> 0) then _ Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Fantasy Companion _ Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme) Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd |
![]() |
![]() |
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 235
|
Okay, some clarification. This is for Deluxe setting right now. Eventually will roll this over to SWADE but that will utilize its default language method probably.
So for now. I came up with this script (with debugs!): Final/2000 Code:
if (state.iscreate <> 0) then var bonus as number bonus = #trait[attrSma] debug #trait[attrSma] debug bonus if (hero.tagis[source.Language] = 0) then #resmax[resLang] += bonus #resleft[resLang] += bonus debug #trait[attrSma] debug bonus endif endif But I am not using language as skills, I am using the option for the languages option that opens under Skills on Skills tab. lgLanguage is the field I am using for languages. However, the only way I know to "open" that is using this code: Initialization/1000 Code:
perform hero.assign[Hero.SmartsLang] trustme I hope this makes sense, it does in my head, sigh. Last edited by Gumbytie; July 30th, 2023 at 01:46 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 235
|
Okay, getting somewhere now. Lots of cups of coffee.
1. So on the Setting Adjust file make sure "Multiple Languages" checked. 2. Go with Smarts d4 3. Use this Mechanic script for starting languages: Final/2000 Code:
if (state.iscreate <> 0) then var bonus as number bonus = #trait[attrSma] debug #trait[attrSma] debug bonus if (hero.tagis[source.Language] = 0) then #resmax[resLang] += bonus #resleft[resLang] += bonus debug #trait[attrSma] debug bonus endif endif Lock your character for Advancement and the errors appear. Under the languages you are now 2 of 0 (2 Overspent). Language Slots: -2(0). So I assume I need to set the Language slots in the above script perhaps? Or in another? Will play around but getting closer. Language Slots = resLang, but it gets lost when character locked for Advancement. Last edited by Gumbytie; July 30th, 2023 at 04:30 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,545
|
That's the thing - in Deluxe it can be either way - A Skill or a separate item. Hence the difficulty, most of the code is written to work either way in Deluxe.
_ Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Fantasy Companion _ Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme) Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|