Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Shadowrun

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mad Hamish
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 82

Old August 6th, 2012, 07:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vytek View Post
No way to remove weapon mods that come with the weapon. Ingram smartgun X. id like to remove the gas vent 2 and place the 3 on there. i can do such but it looks like the capacity is effect.
The rules on gas vents in the core book say that they can't be removed once they're installed.
Mad Hamish is offline   #41
Canis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Canis

Old August 6th, 2012, 08:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vytek View Post
Clothing - shouldn't come up with an error for adding modifications to it. I added Ruth Coating and it error saying 0/0 items can't have modifications.
Firstly, ruthenium poncho's aren't legal any more - you have to have a full body armour suit to add ruthenium. And seeing as capacity is derrived from armour ratings I think that's right, though perhaps there's a small limit. Either way, you can't add ruthenium to it under SR4A rules.

Quote:
It also gets angry when I try and equip the Bike Racing Helmet with the SecureTech Helmet. The SecureTech armor is designed to be added to other pieces of armor. The stacking of armor also seems a little wonky and I'm averaging slightly low -4 per ballistic / impact on ratings.
Erm yeah.... you can't wear two helmets. Look at the description, it clearly says the SecureTech PPP helmet is a football helmet or hockey helmet or whatever. You can only wear one helmet at a time (unless you've taken 40 BP on a second head custom metagenic quality :oP). I'm not sure what you mean with regards to armour ratings, but by all means please post a specific example so we can be sure. Stacking has been ammended in SR4A to make the rule clearer.

Quote:
Variable Cyberlimb attributes dont seem to be working correctly. Running speed should take into account for my legs. Strength should account for my capacity rating. It dosn't seem to average correctly. I have a cyberlimb agility of 9 and its only reading as a 7 for dice on my weapons. Main hand is selected for both.
Yeah there is an issue with this, as it's not always 100% correct but mostly the averages in HL are correct. Weapon attacks typically use whole body agility - I know that seems wrong but it's to take into account it's not just your arm that has to react when you take a shot etc. Running speed and the like aren't affected by cyberlegs unless you have raptor legs. Speed is set per metatype. I'm not sure what you mean by 'capacity rating', could you be more specific.

Quote:
I cant create a custom program but NOT a custom OS. I want to set my own Firewall / System with a Custom OS.
No need to create an OS specifically, Hero Lab treats System and Firewall like programs so just assign them youself instead of using one of the pre-generated OS programs.

Quote:
No way to remove weapon mods that come with the weapon. Ingram smartgun X. id like to remove the gas vent 2 and place the 3 on there. i can do such but it looks like the capacity is effect.
As Mad Hamish pointed out, this isn't legal in SR4A.

Quote:
The Battle Rifles are tossed into the Assault Rifle Category.
I'm assuming you mean for Specialisations of the Automatics skill? And yeah, you might have a point I'd have to look that up. Seems silly for the specialisation of your skill to change just because you're using a slightly bigger bullet, but I can't say as I don't have my copy of War! with me.

Quote:
When I buy the Trigger Selector for my Ares HVBR it states that going FA is a downgrade from HV Full.
Yup, that's a rules bug. The HVBR is the first weapon with the High Velocity feature to not have FA as standard, and since having FA is a requirement for HV I'd expect CGL to rule on this one. Mechcanically when adding FA it should add 'FA(12)' but it doesn't.

Quote:
I have Automatics (SMGs) but my Automatics (Assault Rifle) is using that to grant me the +2 dice. It should not be such.
You're right. Which weapon is it giving you the wrong dice pool benefit for? It's probably just set wrong in the data file. Have you tried it on other SMG and AR type weapons to make sure it's not just the one weapon with the glitch?

Quote:
The capacity of some gun mods are off. I'll have to grab a book and go through it but several are incorrect.
Please do give us a list (and include page references and the book - including printing info). I've not spotted any incorrect weapon mods in months so if any are off we've all missed it for ages.
Canis is offline   #42
Mad Hamish
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 82

Old August 6th, 2012, 11:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canis View Post
That is kinda the point though, as Mystic Adepts are a half way house between being a Magician and an Adept - they're generalists and not specialists, and no generalist is ever gonna be as powerful in any one area as a specialist although given enough time, Karma and grades of initiation a mystic adept can become quite powerful indeed.
I was thinking that the difference in dice in spellcasting was probably enough difference, I think I was wrong (1 magic vs 5 magic is only an effective difference of around 1 hit on average)
So the restriction on force may well be necessary to keep a pure magician ahead of the mystic adept.
I'm not sure that still doesn't mean that a 1/4 mana/physical adept is too ineffective as a starting character but then again you can build ineffective characters for any type of build in shadowrun.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canis View Post
The FAQ entry is still present, so I'd have to assume that the original printing of SR4A was wrong. Apologies there, guess that one got missed.
Mistakes happen and thanks for providing insight on the process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canis View Post
I'm sure CGL will include the FAQ in the latest printing, whenever that happens. All of the core books (Arsenal, Unwired, Augmentation and Street Magic) have recently been reprinted with cool new cover artwork so I'd not be surprised if SR4A itself will be - though they may have to change the title )
My biggest complaint about Shadowrun now is the poor handling of errata and faqs. As I recall things it was handled better in the FASA days (although I played more Earthdawn back then than Shadowrun) and really people should be able to do better over the web now.

Saying that I've got no real idea of the size of the company and how much they've got available in resources to manage the process.
Mad Hamish is offline   #43
Canis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Canis

Old August 7th, 2012, 10:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Hamish View Post
I was thinking that the difference in dice in spellcasting was probably enough difference, I think I was wrong (1 magic vs 5 magic is only an effective difference of around 1 hit on average)
So the restriction on force may well be necessary to keep a pure magician ahead of the mystic adept.
I'm not sure that still doesn't mean that a 1/4 mana/physical adept is too ineffective as a starting character but then again you can build ineffective characters for any type of build in shadowrun.
I've always found adepts of all kinda to be so hyper 1 dimensional as starting characters. Once they get some grades under their belts they're pretty darned tasty but I've never been able to make a starting character adept (normal or mystic) who wouldn't have his arse handed to him in any fight with a starting street sam. I've always chalked this down to the fact that cos magic is giving them such an edge their power curve is a lot slower initially. Put 100+ karma on an adept, and watch him roll most sams up! :o)

Quote:
My biggest complaint about Shadowrun now is the poor handling of errata and faqs. As I recall things it was handled better in the FASA days (although I played more Earthdawn back then than Shadowrun) and really people should be able to do better over the web now.
Oh I feel you mate!!! However my major bugbear is that the spelling and general presentation has gone down hill. I know the other proofers have done a great job, but I'm starting to wonder if CGL is even incorporating some of the errors found into the final version. I am reading The Twilight Horizon at present, and I've just seen a drone with a single standard mount supposedly equipped with TWO miniguns!!!!

Quote:
Saying that I've got no real idea of the size of the company and how much they've got available in resources to manage the process.
And that's the real rub. CGL is like 5 or 10 people and a whole heap of contractors who get assigned to chapters in books. Then it's a team of 10 volunteer proofers who generally get a one or two weeks to proof a chapter - rules mechanics, spelling, punctuation and even content are all checked.

Considering the amount of work CGL has to do, and that's just Shadowrun not to mention their other titles, I'm not surprised how things are. And also right now it's convention time so every month all the staff disappear for a week. Colen and Mathias know how that is I'm sure and CGL have it just as bad :o)
Canis is offline   #44
Andrew
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10

Old August 7th, 2012, 11:36 AM
Just designed a Mystic adept and took 'The Magicians Way' and the selected the Warriors way as the sub path.
I then selected 4 magic points of adept powers and increased reflexes and Increased ability (Archery) the cost of these two powers was not reduced to check I then took out the magicians way and added the Warriors way and it gave me the correct cost saving
Andrew is offline   #45
Canis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Canis

Old August 7th, 2012, 04:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
What's running the skillsofts? What's its system rating? If you're running them on the commlink, you may want to wait and see if whatever's causing the commlink not to show up on the Matrix tab is also affecting other functions of the commlink, like being registered as a source of the Hot Sim ability (whcih affects whether it's a valid item to run skillsofts).
Okay I've found the problem. Everything was working fine, until I switched to VR Hot Sim. Now the skillsofts show as 0 rating, which seems a llittle odd but I know Hot Sim isn't working yet. However, I can't switch back to Real World as it's not an option for a cyborg.
Canis is offline   #46
Mad Hamish
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 82

Old August 7th, 2012, 06:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canis View Post
I've always found adepts of all kinda to be so hyper 1 dimensional as starting characters. Once they get some grades under their belts they're pretty darned tasty but I've never been able to make a starting character adept (normal or mystic) who wouldn't have his arse handed to him in any fight with a starting street sam. I've always chalked this down to the fact that cos magic is giving them such an edge their power curve is a lot slower initially. Put 100+ karma on an adept, and watch him roll most sams up! )
I haven't actually tried to build one for combat yet.
The group I'm currently playing with might lose their main magic character and currently doesn't have a face so I've made a dryad mystic adept to try and cover both areas (6 magic, 5 points mana 1 point physical adept all on social abilities, results in reasonable spellcasting and 15-17 dice for social skills - apart from intimidation - without any buffing)
The impression I've always had for SR is that a Physical Adept was behind the cybered character as a starting character but given 'standard' karma and money got ahead long term.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canis View Post
Oh I feel you mate!!! However my major bugbear is that the spelling and general presentation has gone down hill. I know the other proofers have done a great job, but I'm starting to wonder if CGL is even incorporating some of the errors found into the final version. I am reading The Twilight Horizon at present, and I've just seen a drone with a single standard mount supposedly equipped with TWO miniguns!!!!
I've heard that they just had a bit of a disaster where they did a new version of one of the books and lost all of the errata for it because they'd replaced one of the staff members and the new guy used the wrong version of the documents...
Mistakes happen everywhere but Not a good look.

Anyway thanks again for the input and I'd better stop polluting the thread now.
Mad Hamish is offline   #47
Vytek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25

Old August 8th, 2012, 01:01 AM
B&P MP9 - Its giving me an error for having a Foregrip (Which comes with the weapon). I also cannot add in a Rigid Stock to the gun.

Earbuds - Is capacity off on some things ? Or am I reading it wrong in the core book. Audio Enhancement 3 should be capacity 1 - but in HLlists it as 3.

The capacity ratings were errors on my part. I was selecting Mods, and not Accessory.

SecureTech PPP Helmet - In the description it says that the armor is designed to be combined with other pieces of armor (strapped on with the magic of Velcro!). Or worn as single piece sports equipment.
Vytek is offline   #48
_Pax_
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: U.S. Northeast: Connecticut
Posts: 117

Old August 8th, 2012, 03:01 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vytek View Post
Earbuds - Is capacity off on some things ? Or am I reading it wrong in the core book. Audio Enhancement 3 should be capacity 1 - but in HLlists it as 3.
SR4A went back to "rating times 1" for the capacity cost of Audio enhancements.

Quote:
SecureTech PPP Helmet - In the description it says that the armor is designed to be combined with other pieces of armor (strapped on with the magic of Velcro!). Or worn as single piece sports equipment.
Yeah, you're right. At first I thought "the guy must have missed something about the helmet" ... but, no, it's listed and treated like any of the other pieces, and the overall description says all of the PPP system is available in a "worn under other clothing" version, with no especial exception for the helmet mentioned.
_Pax_ is offline   #49
Canis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Canis

Old August 8th, 2012, 11:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Pax_ View Post
Yeah, you're right. At first I thought "the guy must have missed something about the helmet" ... but, no, it's listed and treated like any of the other pieces, and the overall description says all of the PPP system is available in a "worn under other clothing" version, with no especial exception for the helmet mentioned.
*sigh* Unfortunately this wasn't explicitly said because no-one honestly thought you would need to say 'you can't wear two helmets'.

Vytek, what version of the main rulebook do you have? Sounds like you have SR4 and not SR4A.
Canis is offline   #50
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.