Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
FCWesel
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 85

Old May 6th, 2017, 01:21 PM
Any way to give proficiency in a specific set of armor, like the way that Weapon Proficiency does in the adjustment tab?

Meaning, is there a way to make a character proficient with chain shirt if the character has Chain Shirt on his armor list, but isn't actually proficient with it?
FCWesel is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
MNBlockHead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Twin Cities Area, MN, USA
Posts: 1,325

Old July 22nd, 2018, 09:05 PM
I would like to know this as well.

RW Project: Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition homebrew world
Other Tools: CampaignCartographer, Cityographer, Dungeonographer, Evernote
MNBlockHead is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,294

Old July 22nd, 2018, 11:47 PM
Should be possible as you can do this with monsters. If you have a look at the script for a monster in the MM Community Pack you should be able to find code where this has been done.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base

Obsidian
Obsidian TTRPG Tutorials
daplunk is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 608

Old July 23rd, 2018, 03:31 AM
It's not done the same as weapons that I can see, weapons have a WepProf.XXX tag that you assign to the hero, this is done at the Race level or at the Class level. Armor is only assigned in the broad groups (light, medium, heavy, shields). However, you can manipulate the Helper.Proficient tag if you do it early enough.

For an adjustment you could do the following (pre-levels/10000) - if the Show Menu option is "Current Armor" it only shows armor that you have bought, but you could modify it with a list of all armors if you know how to construct the selection lists.

Code:
      ~ If we're not enabled, get out now
      doneif (field[pIsOn].value = 0)

      ~ If we've not chosen anything, get out
      doneif (field[pChosen].ischosen = 0)

      ~ Assign the identity tag for the proficiency
      var id as string
      id = field[pChosen].chosen.idstring
      foreach pick in hero where "IsArmor." & id
        perform eachpick.assign[Helper.Proficient]
        nexteach
This means that if you don't have chain shirt in your normal armor proficiencies, but you have a chain shirt in inventory you could pick the chain shirt and grant yourself proficiency in it.

Last edited by dungeonguru; July 23rd, 2018 at 03:33 AM.
dungeonguru is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old July 23rd, 2018, 01:59 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dungeonguru View Post
Code:
      ~ If we're not enabled, get out now
      doneif (field[pIsOn].value = 0)

      ~ If we've not chosen anything, get out
      doneif (field[pChosen].ischosen = 0)

      ~ Assign the identity tag for the proficiency
      var id as string
      id = field[pChosen].chosen.idstring
      foreach pick in hero where "IsArmor." & id
        perform eachpick.assign[Helper.Proficient]
        nexteach
As an FYI instead of doing string manipulation you can just use the tagids[] function directly in the foreach loop.

Code:
      
      ~ If we're not enabled, get out now
      doneif (field[pIsOn].value = 0)
      ~ If we've not chosen anything, get out
      doneif (field[pChosen].ischosen = 0)

      ~ Assign the helper proficient tag
      foreach pick in hero where field[pChosen].chosen.tagids[IsArmor.?]
        perform eachpick.assign[Helper.Proficient]
        nexteach
You can read more about tagids[] on the HL wiki.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.