Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mmurphy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dayton, Nevada--USA
Posts: 129

Old March 18th, 2018, 08:41 AM
My wife is willing to help me put in Mechanical Reference data on the game system we play but she wants to do it on her computer. If I buy a second 'full' licence to install on her computer (right now she has player version) can she then log in as me and add to my existing database? I know we would not be able to do this at the same time, but it is going to take me a long time to enter the data and she is willing to help but not on my computer as I would be using it for other things.

Getting all the mechanical reference in by myself will take me a long time to complete. If I do it by myself, I might die of old age before I actually finish.

Right now her Realm Works is 'locked' to only her user name and cannot be changed.
Mmurphy is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,412

Old March 18th, 2018, 09:57 AM
The easiest way is to make a new Windows user on her machine. Log in as that Windows user, start Realm Works, and log in to Realm Works as you. Then she can sync to that machine, do whatever, and sync back. When she's done, log out and switch back to her regular user account.

You don't need another license (you can use Realm Works on as many devices as you want) but each Windows user can only be one Realm Works user at a time. To change Realm Works users, you have to delete/rename/move the master.realm file (or its folder) in your user directory, which is a pain if you're constantly switching.


Last edited by Parody; March 18th, 2018 at 10:03 AM.
Parody is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Mmurphy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dayton, Nevada--USA
Posts: 129

Old March 18th, 2018, 07:18 PM
I thought I would post the next question within my first question. Is there a way to import text from a text file (Comma Separated Value). I have my information written in a Word Document and want to do a quick import, things like equipment, weapons, magic items, etc.
Mmurphy is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,261

Old March 18th, 2018, 08:43 PM
You want to have a look at this user created tool for that.

http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,418

Old March 19th, 2018, 12:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by daplunk View Post
You want to have a look at this user created tool for that.
Actually it was this user, but let's not split the difference.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/amusingtime
Farling is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.