Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - 4th Edition

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
tpkurilla
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52

Old February 17th, 2012, 09:53 PM
I've had to reload my system due to hard disk failure.

So I download HeroLab, and install it. But I can't find the DDI Downloader at all! I've followed the instructions in the "View Manual" button on the character page.

Trouble is, it says to go to C:\herolab\data\4e, but that directory does not exist.

What's the actual method of getting/using the DDI Downloader now?

Thanks in advance,

-Thomas
tpkurilla is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
tpkurilla
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52

Old February 18th, 2012, 08:43 AM
I've downloaded the ddidownloader.exe from the google code web site.

When I run the program, it dies claiming that it could not find a mapping file.

I've even re-downloaded, and re-installed HeroLab, and I *still* do not have a data directory.

Was the DDI downloader removed from the distribution for some reason? Or am I missing some step?

I swear that I didn't have this issue any other time I installed...

Please, can anyone help?

-Thomas
tpkurilla is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
tpkurilla
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52

Old February 18th, 2012, 09:00 AM
I poked around manually, and found the ddidownloader.exe in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Hero Lab\data.

Seems like the manual needs to be updated.

What is mind-blowing is that I did a search of the entire drive for ddi*.exe, and it wasn't found. I'm assuming that the Application Data folder is hidden, thus preventing me from finding the file.

Of course, I have "show hidden files" selected, so it should have worked. I'm sure that Microsoft knew that I didn't really want to search that area, and helped me out...

Running it now. Hopefully I don't have the issues others have been having...
tpkurilla is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 757

Old February 22nd, 2012, 04:51 PM
DDI updated the heroes of the elemental chaos today.
So there will be some changes plus what ever else they did in the program.
SAbel is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,599

Old February 22nd, 2012, 09:17 PM
Yeah whenever Compendium updates Colen or someone else has to go in and fix things. Be patient please.
RavenX is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Takeda
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 74

Old April 3rd, 2012, 07:05 AM
re-downloaded everything, won't work. Tried again but erased original files, won't work. Apparently it cannot find multiple files so here is an example:

Thing 'fRGeCaussl' - Bootstrap thing 'pRacAciSur' does not exist
Thing 'fRgeCindsl' - Bootstrap thing 'pRacFirede' does not exist

Etc.



So because this won't resolve I cannot fire up my 4e at all. It just pops back to the select system screen.

Last edited by Takeda; April 3rd, 2012 at 09:34 AM. Reason: Missed further explanation.
Takeda is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,718

Old April 3rd, 2012, 08:56 PM
Do you have a current D&D Insider subscription? If you log into the Compendium and look at the Genasi race, say, does it show you the complete race details, or a "you need to subscribe" page?
Colen is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
DavidGonterman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2

Old May 7th, 2012, 07:42 PM
My question has to do with the Downloader and having a two-computer system. I took advantage of the second license to have HeroLab on my laptop so I can take it with me. I have 4ED on both, but I'm currently doing the whole DDI database. Is it possible for me to just copy the resulting DDI_ directory from one computer to another and have it work without having to use the downloader again?
DavidGonterman is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,718

Old May 10th, 2012, 08:54 AM
You can just copy the entire "4e" directory from one computer to another, and it should work without any problems.
Colen is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
TehBagder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100

Old May 10th, 2012, 07:39 PM
I'm running into a problem using the Mac version of the downloader. It keeps crapping out on me with a Trace/BPT Trap. I've attached a screenshot. I've got an active DDI subscription.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2012-05-10 at 11.36.45 PM.png (58.8 KB, 10 views)
TehBagder is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.