Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Gumbytie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 246

Old April 28th, 2024, 10:00 AM
I have searched around the forums here but found no actual solution yet.

So a setting with Arcane background (Magic) with 3 starting powers. In this setting, all Priests (for example) with always have one slot filled with the Healing power.

Yes, I know the players can select that power on their own, but often times the forget, create character, lock character and then I see the character that they forgot to take the default starting skill.

The ideal of HeroLab is to automate as much as possible, less mistakes that way

So simply Bootstrapping the "starting arcane power" via the Arcane Background doesn't work. Is there an additional step to make that work?
Gumbytie is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,561

Old April 29th, 2024, 03:34 AM
Let me check this. My stock answer may not work with the new multiple Arcane Backgrounds allowed now.

_
Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder, SWADE Fantasy Companion
Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Sci-Fi Companion
_
Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme)
Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane
Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd
CapedCrusader is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,561

Old April 30th, 2024, 11:32 AM
OK, I was right. This had to change a bit. With the addition of the multiple Arcane Backgrounds, you have to tell it which Arcane Background the Power attaches to. So you have to add a tag to the bootstrap for this. Each Arcane Background has an identifier tag that goes with it. The bootstrap goes on the Arcane Background Edge, not the Arcane Background itself. Here's an example of adding the Blind Power to the Magic Arcane Background:

Code:
  <thing
    id="edgArcMagSWADE"
    name="Arcane Background: Magic"
    compset="Edge"
    isunique="yes"
    summary="Gain the Magic arcane background"
    description="{b}Note:{/b} This is the Edge your character must purchase to possess the &quot;Magic&quot; arcane background and cast spells.">
    <fieldval field="shortname" value="Arcane Magic"/>
    <usesource source="AdventureEd"/>
    <tag group="EdgeType" tag="Background"/>
    <tag group="MinRank" tag="0"/>
    <tag group="Arcane" tag="Magic"/>
    <bootstrap thing="arcMagicSWADE"/>
    <bootstrap thing="powBlindSWADE">
      <autotag group="Arcane" tag="arcMagicSWADE"/>
      </bootstrap>
    </thing>
Now, finding that tag can be tricky. One way is to add the AB to a Hero, then add a Power to it and then Show Debug Tags on the Power. It'll be right on top. It's also the tag for the Arcane Background itself that you bootstrapped to the Edge, you can see it on the line above.

_
Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder, SWADE Fantasy Companion
Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Sci-Fi Companion
_
Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme)
Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane
Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd

Last edited by CapedCrusader; April 30th, 2024 at 11:34 AM.
CapedCrusader is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Gumbytie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 246

Old May 1st, 2024, 03:57 AM
That worked perfectly Caped, thank you very much!

I appreciate you taking time out, still, to answer these questions since you are busy banging away on the crucial updates we are looking forward to
Gumbytie is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,561

Old May 1st, 2024, 02:35 PM
Right now I'm on hold due to my day job. Since I program for a living, I have to be very careful there's no conflict of interest. I expected to be between assignments for a couple of weeks (that's how it happened both other times with this company) but for some reason it's taking much longer this time. It's extremely frustrating. So far I've managed not to pull out any hair. But this was a question I needed to answer anyway, so you let me answer it. Thanks!

_
Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder, SWADE Fantasy Companion
Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Sci-Fi Companion
_
Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme)
Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane
Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd
CapedCrusader is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.