Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Santok1972
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 10

Old May 25th, 2022, 07:03 PM
Is there a command like #HasAbility or #HasFeat that checks to see if you have a certain trait?
Santok1972 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Dami
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 979

Old May 26th, 2022, 03:01 AM
Yes, there is a macro #hastrait

Current RPG's: Pathfinder (GM), Pathfinder (Player), Gamma World (GM, Pathfinder homebrew).
HeroLab: 3.5 & Pathfinder. HL User Files for PF: Greyhawk Setting, Gamma World (WIP).

DM and player of D&D since 1980.
Dami is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Santok1972
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 10

Old May 28th, 2022, 09:16 AM
Thank you. I thought there must be, since I wasn't getting an error message. I must have the timing wrong, since it doesn't seem to be working. Thank you for the confirmation.
Santok1972 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Santok1972
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 10

Old May 28th, 2022, 09:50 AM
I'm not quite sure what is occurring. I have a customized Background that I am adding a racial special ability to utilizing the Bootstrap Conditions. So, in the Bootstrap Condition, I have "HasTrait.TraitID". The timing is First, 4500. I get no error messages, but the racial special ability isn't added. When I change the Bootstrap Condition to "HasFeat.FeatId" with the same timing, everything works perfectly. Both the feat I am testing this with and the Trait I am trying to get this to work with are added to the character.

I am using the First, 4500 timing, because when I had anything after First, 5000 I got an error message indicating that the timing needed to occur before First, 5000.
Santok1972 is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Lord Magus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Quebec, QC, Canada
Posts: 414

Old May 28th, 2022, 04:58 PM
#hastrait does not apply to racial traits (aka racial abilities), only to the character traits (aka the semi-half-feats only PCs get). Might that be the problem?
Lord Magus is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Santok1972
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 10

Old May 29th, 2022, 07:57 AM
The check is set up to see if the particular character trait is present, and if so, the background adds a particular racial trait. So, the Bootstrap is the racial trait, the Condition in the Bootstrap is if the character trait is present. So, I think I have that set up correctly.
Santok1972 is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Santok1972
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 10

Old May 30th, 2022, 07:11 AM
I converted the Character Traits I was trying to use to Upbringing Feats, and everything is working perfectly with that structure. Thank you all for the inputs.
Santok1972 is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.