Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Maidhc O Casain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jonesboro, AR (USA)
Posts: 858

Old January 27th, 2011, 07:26 AM
I'm trying to make a Gestalt Inquisitor/Fighter. I've got it almost completely finished, but one hang up is giving me fits. I can't seem to get the Fighter's Weapon Training to work correctly.

I made my own versions of each of the Weapon Groups, set them to Secondary Abilities and assigned them to my new class. They show up appropriately - at level 5 HL is giving the new class the option to choose one, and they all appear in his list. At level 9 he gets to choose another, and the appropriate list appears. But his bonus for the first group doesn't increase, and his bonus for the second is listed as +0. Leveling up further gives the same results - he's allowed to choose another weapon group, but none of the bonuses increase with his level.

Last edited by Maidhc O Casain; January 27th, 2011 at 08:06 AM.
Maidhc O Casain is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Maidhc O Casain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jonesboro, AR (USA)
Posts: 858

Old January 27th, 2011, 08:01 AM
Don't know if this will make a difference, but I'm creating this class as an Inquisitor Archetype.
Maidhc O Casain is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Maidhc O Casain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jonesboro, AR (USA)
Posts: 858

Old January 31st, 2011, 11:04 AM
Bump . . .

Anyone have any insight to offer me for this problem? I'm really stymied.
Maidhc O Casain is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old January 31st, 2011, 12:23 PM
Unfortunately, fighter weapon training is currently only set up to look at the primary abilities of the class. There's no way a user will be able to make use of them unless they're in the primary slot.
Mathias is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Maidhc O Casain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jonesboro, AR (USA)
Posts: 858

Old January 31st, 2011, 04:42 PM
So to make this Gestalt class, would it be possible to make the primary Inquisitor abilities secondary (or tertiary, or quaternary) while still leaving it as an Inquisitor archetype?

Or should I completely redo it as a Fighter archetype? Much more difficult that way, since the Inquisitor isn't open book it'll be all copy/pastes.

(I'm guessing it would be a complicated task to make the weapon training look at secondary/etc. abilities in a future update, but it would be nice if this were a possibility!).

Last edited by Maidhc O Casain; February 4th, 2011 at 10:42 AM.
Maidhc O Casain is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Maidhc O Casain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jonesboro, AR (USA)
Posts: 858

Old February 4th, 2011, 10:45 AM
Would making the Fighter Weapon Training available as a secondary (or other) ability be a possibility for an update? It would sure make developing archetypes of other classes that incorporate it a lot easier.
Maidhc O Casain is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old February 4th, 2011, 12:33 PM
Here is the script. You can add this script to your class and modify it to look for the table you want, and you should be able to keep this one and the normal one from crossing paths as long as you're specific about looking for secondary/tertiary/quaternary abilities.

Phase: PostLevel, priority: 10500
Code:
 
 
      ~build up a tag expression to identify all weapon training abilities for
      ~this class
      var expr as string
      expr = "wFtrGroup.? & CustTaken." & idstring
      ~first, make sure we have any weapon training abilities for this class.
      ~If we don't, there's nothing to do here.
      doneif (hero.haschild[BaseCustSp,expr] = 0)
~debug "Weapon training is being calculated for " & field[name].text
      ~the best bonus available to all weapon training abilities is 1 at 5th level,
      ~+1 per 4 levels after that. If we don't have a bonus, we're done.
      var bonus as number
      bonus = field[cGiveSpec].value
      var tagbonus as number
      doneif (bonus = 0)
      ~go through all of our weapon training abilities in ascending order,
      ~giving a decreasing bonus to each.
      foreach pick in hero from BaseCustSp where expr sortas _CompSeq_
        ~if our net bonus is 0 because we're run out of weapon types, we're
        ~done
        doneif (bonus <= 0)
        ~set the bonus for this ability
        eachpick.field[abValue].value += bonus
        tagbonus = eachpick.field[abValue].value
        ~forward the weapon group tag we're assigned to the class a number of
        ~times equal to the bonus we're receiving
        if (eachpick.field[abValue].value >= 1) then
          var i as number
          var wepexpr as string
          var bonustag as string
          wepexpr = eachpick.tagids[wFtrGroup.?," | "]
          bonustag = eachpick.tagids[TrainBonus.?, ""]
          foreach pick in hero from BaseWep where wepexpr
            for i = 1 to tagbonus
              perform eachpick.assignstr[bonustag]
              next
            nexteach
          endif
        ~our next ability has a bonus of 1 lower
        bonus -= 1
        nexteach
Mathias is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Maidhc O Casain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jonesboro, AR (USA)
Posts: 858

Old February 4th, 2011, 03:16 PM
Mathias, you are awesome! Thanks a million!

(BTW, I talk this program up all the time to my friends - and one of the things I always mention is the fact that you guys take the time to do stuff like this for your customers.)
Maidhc O Casain is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Frodie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,747

Old February 25th, 2011, 08:01 PM
I am trying to use the above script but I am getting this error

Syntax error in 'eval' script on line 18
-> Non-existent sortset '_CompSeq_' referenced by script
Frodie is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Frodie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,747

Old March 2nd, 2011, 11:41 AM
I would like to add this to an Archetype, I tried to copy the Weapon training, but it will not add correctly. The above script also gives errors. Any idea?

BTW - Thank you!
Frodie is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.