Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Portland
Posts: 313

Old November 14th, 2017, 10:49 AM
Hey I'm trying to word this right, it's the bootstrap equivalent of the "if disabled get out of here."

so I have a natural weapon for a quasi shape-shifter that only works when in their 'combat' form.

is there a version of the "if (field[abilActive].value <> 0)" argument I can put in the bootstrap condition?
Enforcer84 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 608

Old November 14th, 2017, 01:52 PM
You can create a new tag to apply to the hero to check for and then write some scripts similar to what is in the Rage ability of the barbarian. When the ability button is checked, your scripts set Hero.ClawOK, so on your claw bootstrap you can check for Hero.ClawOK (as an example). You generally can create new tags in the .1st files (look at the community .1st files - they are just text).

Another thought is to set the livename and sbName on the Claw attack to be "Claw (Combat Mode Only)", like all the lycanthropes do. This leaves the claw stat on the sheet but at least in parentheses it shows not to use it.
dungeonguru is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Portland
Posts: 313

Old November 14th, 2017, 02:26 PM
Yeah that second one probably works fine, but the first is intriguing
I'll look into that.
Enforcer84 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Portland
Posts: 313

Old November 14th, 2017, 02:27 PM
Thank you for the response, by the way
Enforcer84 is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old November 14th, 2017, 02:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enforcer84 View Post
is there a version of the "if (field[abilActive].value <> 0)" argument I can put in the bootstrap condition?
Like this:
Code:
fieldval:abilActive <> 0

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Enforcer84
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Portland
Posts: 313

Old November 14th, 2017, 02:51 PM
Thank you as well!
Enforcer84 is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 608

Old November 15th, 2017, 04:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowChemosh View Post
Like this:
Code:
fieldval:abilActive <> 0
I always forget that way.

I have a followup ShadowChemosh if you could indulge. For this example, wClaw is probably being bootstrapped by the racial ability that you need to check the field for so the fieldvalue is local. What if you had wClaw external to that ability? Normally in a script you would check for the activation like:

Code:
hero.childfound[rAbility].field[abActive].value <> 0
would you have to composite the tag for a tag condition like:

Code:
thingid.rAbility & (fieldval:abilActive <> 0)
or is there a way to shorten it? I'm trying to figure out the details in the hlkitwiki site, but sometimes my brain doesn't interpret it correctly.

A secondary to this (to the code gods, not you ShadowChemosh) is why does fieldval only return the first integer digits encountered? It makes writing a decent script looking for CR values below 0.5 really hard since it always returns 0 for anything that has a decimal place and a leading 0....

Last edited by dungeonguru; November 15th, 2017 at 04:19 AM.
dungeonguru is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,729

Old November 15th, 2017, 11:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dungeonguru View Post
Code:
hero.childfound[rAbility].field[abActive].value <> 0
Simple answer is you can't. Pretty much you would need to then set a Local Variable like this:
Code:
field[abValue5].value = hero.childfound[rAbility].field[abActive].value
Then on the current Pick use the following in the boostrap condition:
Code:
fieldval:abValue5 <> 0
You can also do what you said above is set a tag on the hero container. The community can not create any tags that start with Hero.? as that is only for LW. What I did in the Pathfinder Community Pack is make up PackHero.? and PackHelper.? tag group that I could control. But a Custom.? tag on the hero container works as well for bootstrap conditions:

Code:
If (hero.childfound[rAbility].field[abActive].value <> 0) Then
   perform hero.assign[Custom.ThingOn]
Endif
Bootstrap condition:
Code:
Custom.ThingOn
Hope that helps.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
dungeonguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 608

Old November 15th, 2017, 11:50 AM
Thanks ShadowChemosh!
dungeonguru is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.