Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

MNBlockHead

Old January 30th, 2016, 09:20 PM
The MM gives mechanics for altering a player who is cursed/blessed with lycanthropy.

I assume that "Shapechanger" should be a feat named either "Shapechanger" or "Lycanthropic Shapechanger"

Keen smell would also be a feat.

But, if feats, the rules will prevent adding them. I'm new to HL, so maybe there is a way to override this. Is the idea that I just add the additional "feats" and ignore the validation warnings?

Attacks like Bite and Claw, I assume, would need to be created as Weapons so that they are shown as attacks on the character sheet.

Also, for lycanthropes, some attacks are only available in some forms? How would I account for this?

How would you account for the special effects of a lycanthrope's bite (target humanoid must make a DC 14 Constitution saving throw or be cursed with lycanthropy)?

I'm finding that I'm putting a lot of stuff just in the description. I have not played around with the Tactical Console yet. I don't know how much is really automated. If I'm only trying to track the characters' information, then I really don't need to make this very complicated, but if these effects can be tracked in combat using the tactical console, I'd like to do things right when creating these.

RW Project: Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition homebrew world
Other Tools: CampaignCartographer, Cityographer, Dungeonographer, Evernote
MNBlockHead is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Elindor

Old January 31st, 2016, 12:52 AM
I've been going over the datafiles all day, and it might be easier to set up as a subrace (or a sequence of subraces, as needed) - of course, for those who don't have subraces, you'll need to base it off of the race, and make the changes there (Otherwise, you'd need to update the subraces as well, and we want to work smarter)