Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
steve at gametools.com
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old July 7th, 2003, 05:53 PM
I'm trying to set up rules for units within a datafile such that if a unit of
type X is chosen, then units of type Y are no longer legal, and vice-verse.
I thought I could do it with the 'reqd' external attribute, but that didn't
seem to do the trick, and my brain is totally flaking for examples of this in
other systems such that I could just go look it up...*sigh*

Help anyone?

--
Steve (That's Mr. Bugman to you, lad...)

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Buy Coral Calcium for Greater Health - $23.95
http://www.challengerone.com/t/l.asp...p=calcium2.asp
http://us.click.yahoo.com/MmkSQC/NTV...SFAA/IMSolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->

To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  #1 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,690

Old July 7th, 2003, 06:27 PM
At 05:29 PM 7/7/2003 -0400, you wrote:
>I'm trying to set up rules for units within a datafile such that if a unit of
>type X is chosen, then units of type Y are no longer legal, and vice-verse.
>I thought I could do it with the 'reqd' external attribute, but that didn't
>seem to do the trick, and my brain is totally flaking for examples of this in
>other systems such that I could just go look it up...*sigh*

There are several ways you could do it. Let's assume unit X has type 'X'
and unit Y has type 'Y'.

umax:0u-istype=X

On unit Y will allow a maximum of 0 unit Ys when type X (and thus unit X)
is present.

Or you could use trat:

trat:Y@0u:X@1u

Either of these ways should work fine.


--
Colen McAlister (colen@wolflair.com)
Lone Wolf Development www.wolflair.com



------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Save up to 80% on top-quality inkjet cartridges and get your order fast!
FREE shipping on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. Shop at Myinks.com!
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/v2G7ND/KfU...SFAA/IMSolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->

To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
Colen is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
steve at gametools.com
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old July 8th, 2003, 02:12 PM
> At 05:29 PM 7/7/2003 -0400, you wrote:
> >I'm trying to set up rules for units within a datafile such that if a unit of
> >type X is chosen, then units of type Y are no longer legal, and vice-verse.
> >I thought I could do it with the 'reqd' external attribute, but that didn't
> >seem to do the trick, and my brain is totally flaking for examples of this in
> >other systems such that I could just go look it up...*sigh*
>
> There are several ways you could do it. Let's assume unit X has type 'X'
> and unit Y has type 'Y'.
>
> umax:0u-istype=X
>
> On unit Y will allow a maximum of 0 unit Ys when type X (and thus unit X)
> is present.
>
> Or you could use trat:
>
> trat:Y@0u:X@1u
>
> Either of these ways should work fine.

I tried the 'trat' solution, and even though the ocumentation seems to indicate
your syntax should work, it doesn't create the limitation. It continues to
allow me to select both unit types with only regard to the regular umax
settings I've for them. No error comes up.

Since it's 4 units I'm working with here, I used four trat lines:

trat:A@0u:!A@1u
trat:B@0u:!B@1u
trat:C@0u:!C@1u
trat@0u:!D@1u

This didn't limit any of the units (except as per their own umax settings).

I also tried (since I'm actually dealing with 4 units needing to exclude each
other, not just two...) the following:

each unit gets defined as type 'ally'
three of the units get defined as type 'pos'
the other gets defined as 'line'

type:ally-mode=a
typeos-mode=a
type:line-mode=a

each unit gets its individual max # models defined with umax:

umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a-istype=ally
umax:2m-race=cs-mode=a-istype=ally (for one unit only)

Then, in the race section, I define:

tlmtos-model=1@max-mode=a
tlmt:line-model=0@max-mode=a-istype=pos

I would think that the above would allow any one unit type its own maximum
number of models, with the two tlmt lines preventing others from sneaking in.
Thus allowing a player to choose 1 model of any one of the three units, or up
to two models of the fourth unit.

Is my logic failing me, or is my understanding of trat, etc. failing me.

Trying stuff with istype right now...

---
Steve (That's Mr. Bugman to you, lad...)

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Save up to 80% on top-quality inkjet cartridges and get your order fast!
FREE shipping on orders $50 or more to the US & Canada. Shop at Myinks.com!
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5511
http://us.click.yahoo.com/v2G7ND/KfU...SFAA/IMSolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->

To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  #3 Reply With Quote
mach_5 at rocketmail.com
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old July 8th, 2003, 02:54 PM
> Since it's 4 units I'm working with here, I used four trat lines:
>
> trat:A@0u:!A@1u
> trat:B@0u:!B@1u
> trat:C@0u:!C@1u
> trat@0u:!D@1u
>
> This didn't limit any of the units (except as per their own umax
> settings).

Not sure why the above wouldn't be working.... though it would not be
working in the default mode if the units are only getting assigned their
types in "-mode=a" as you've listed them before.


> I also tried (since I'm actually dealing with 4 units needing to exclude
> each other, not just two...) the following:
>
> each unit gets defined as type 'ally'
> three of the units get defined as type 'pos'
> the other gets defined as 'line'
>
> type:ally-mode=a
> typeos-mode=a
> type:line-mode=a
>
> each unit gets its individual max # models defined with umax:
>
> umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a-istype=ally
> umax:2m-race=cs-mode=a-istype=ally (for one unit only)

I don't think you want -istype=ally on there.... it's unnecessary as all
of the units are type=ally so this umax attribute will always apply
assuming the race=cs and mode=a. Leave them as:

umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a
umax:2m-race=cs-mode=a (for one unit only)

> Then, in the race section, I define:
>
> tlmtos-model=1@max-mode=a
> tlmt:line-model=0@max-mode=a-istype=pos
>
> I would think that the above would allow any one unit type its own
> maximum
> number of models, with the two tlmt lines preventing others from
> sneaking in.

The umax lines you have above, "umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a" limit that unit to
only 1 model per army/roster. If you want to limit it only to one unit
(regardless of size) you must make it "umax:1u-race=cs-mode=a"


> Thus allowing a player to choose 1 model of any one of the three units,
> or up to two models of the fourth unit.

If this is what you want to accomplish this should be sufficient:

Race_CS:
tratos@0u:line@1u
trat:line@0uos@1u

Unit_1:
typeos-mode=a
umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a

Unit_2:
typeos-mode=a
umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a

Unit_3:
typeos-mode=a
umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a

Unit_4:
type:line-mode=a
umax:2m-race=cs-mode=a

Hope this helps
Mark

=====
WF6 Army Builder File Manager
Direwolf FAQ Council - Army Builder Liaison
-
Warhammer Club - Vancouver, BC
http://www.WCP-Vancouver.com

__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
SBC Yahoo! DSL - Now only $29.95 per month!
http://sbc.yahoo.com

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Inkjet cartridges up to 80% off. HP, Epson, Lexmark--we have your brand.
Free shipping on every order to the U.S. and Canada! Excellent service.
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5510
http://us.click.yahoo.com/QWB0QC/.eU...SFAA/IMSolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->

To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  #4 Reply With Quote
mach_5 at rocketmail.com
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Old July 8th, 2003, 04:09 PM
Actually, come to think of it, what I just told you will not be sufficient
as you will be able to take three models of typeos, one from each of the
first three units. Keep what I did below, but remove all four umax
attributes. Add these race attributes:

tlmtos-model=1@max-mode=a-istype=!line
tlmt:line-model=2@max-mode=a-istype=!pos

Mark

> > Thus allowing a player to choose 1 model of any one of the three
> units,
> > or up to two models of the fourth unit.
>
> If this is what you want to accomplish this should be sufficient:
>
> Race_CS:
> tratos@0u:line@1u
> trat:line@0uos@1u
>
> Unit_1:
> typeos-mode=a
> umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a
>
> Unit_2:
> typeos-mode=a
> umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a
>
> Unit_3:
> typeos-mode=a
> umax:1m-race=cs-mode=a
>
> Unit_4:
> type:line-mode=a
> umax:2m-race=cs-mode=a
>
> Hope this helps
> Mark
>
> =====
> WF6 Army Builder File Manager
> Direwolf FAQ Council - Army Builder Liaison
> -
> Warhammer Club - Vancouver, BC
> http://www.WCP-Vancouver.com
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> SBC Yahoo! DSL - Now only $29.95 per month!
> http://sbc.yahoo.com
>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, email
>
> armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
> http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
>
>


=====
WF6 Army Builder File Manager
Direwolf FAQ Council - Army Builder Liaison
-
Warhammer Club - Vancouver, BC
http://www.WCP-Vancouver.com

__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
SBC Yahoo! DSL - Now only $29.95 per month!
http://sbc.yahoo.com

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Free shipping on all inkjet cartridge & refill kit orders to US & Canada.
Low prices up to 80% off. We have your brand: HP, Epson, Lexmark & more.
http://www.c1tracking.com/l.asp?cid=5510
http://us.click.yahoo.com/y8_tZA/6oV...SFAA/IMSolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->

To unsubscribe from this group, email

armybuilder-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
  #5 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help wanted on unit/sub-unit army file writing problem Dave_Gilbert Army Builder 4 May 20th, 2008 09:15 AM
Unit option replacing unit option... Bluefool Army Builder 11 March 4th, 2006 04:41 PM
Unit must be smaller than every other unit richardevers2000 at zonne Army Builder 2 January 29th, 2004 07:51 AM
Unit Restrictions schreiber at freek-inc.co Army Builder 3 December 19th, 1999 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.