Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - User Projects
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old December 24th, 2009, 09:44 PM
Hey All,
Happy Holidays
I just recieved the Dotor Who RPG a my Door Step I have only thumbed through the books at this time but is anyone else looking forward to this or thinking of working on programing this system? I can not even think what it would entail until I have at least read the rules but I thought that maybe someone out there has already looked it over and maybe has started this one.

Just hopeing
SAbel is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old December 28th, 2009, 08:40 PM
Okay I am nuts So I ve started.
How do I have skills without a limit (skeleton is set to 10) but have attributes cap at 6, with the rare occasion that allows the attribute to go higher (if you are playing a Time Lord for example or an Alien).
I am in the traits.str Line 39 is the set for making max limit, but it applies to both Abilities and Skills, is there a way to seperate them?
SAbel is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 29th, 2009, 12:23 AM
Add a script to the attributes component that modifies trtMaximum.
Mathias is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old December 29th, 2009, 09:02 AM
Okay so here is what I have done (after putting it in the wrog place in line 3 times)
in the traits.str file I have added and altered the following lines 172-187

<!-- Skills have No Maximum trait value -->
<eval index="1" phase="Initialize" priority="3000"><![CDATA[
field[trtMaximum].value = 50
]]></eval>

<!-- Track the skill on the actor -->
<eval index="2" phase="Setup" priority="5000"><![CDATA[
perform forward[Skill.?]
]]></eval>

<!-- Each skill point that is allocated by the user costs 1 CP -->
<eval index="3" phase="Traits" priority="10000">
<before name="Calc resLeft"/>
<after name="Bound trtUser"/><![CDATA[
~if this skill is not added directly to the hero (i.e. an advance), skip it entirely
doneif (origin.ishero = 0)
This allows the skill to be max at 50 (even though there is no limit I do not see anyone having a skill that high)
Thank you Mathias
SAbel is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old December 29th, 2009, 09:10 AM
Next I will attempt to limit the attributes to 6 unless the character is an alien. So in the Wiki I found this that should help me set the Alien level. Wiki ref Creature Specification (Savage).

Now I believe that I can add these into the trait.str file under attributes but let me know if I am wrong please.

<eval index="3" phase="Initialize" priority="3000"><![CDATA[
~1-6 for traits
~Note: Aliens can exceed max value, so let the maximum go to 10.
field[trtMinimum].value = 1
if (hero.tagis[Hero.Alien] <> 0) then
field[trtMaximum].value = 10
else
field[trtMaximum].value = 6
endif
]]></eval>

<eval index="5" phase="Traits" priority="8000">
<before name="Calc trtNetRoll"/><![CDATA[
~for Alien with a attribute greater than 6,
if (hero.tagis[Hero.Alien] <> 0) then
if (field[trtUser].value > 6) then
field[trtRoll].value = field[trtUser].value - 6
endif
endif
]]></eval>

Now I believe this will handle the character correctly if the I have Race as alien, unless I need to some how tag the hero in another way. I will not put this in until I get a that looks good from someone who knows.
Until then I will make race Human and Race Alien, I shall also place a forced tag in for race that sets Human or Alien incase it is need to make these scripts work.

Thanks again Sean
SAbel is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old December 29th, 2009, 09:13 AM
Okay I have another thought can I just modify the following Race script to remove the limits on Attributes or would it be easier as Aliens are added to the game to just make it so that they auto add the bonus. If they auto add will it allow the start to go over the max value?

<eval value="1" phase="PreTraits" priority="5000">
<before name="Calc trtFinal"/><![CDATA[
~apply whatever adjustment(s) are needed here
~hero.child[resAbility].field[resMax].value += 1
~#traitbonus[attrSam] += 1
]]></eval>
SAbel is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 29th, 2009, 11:56 AM
Here's a suggestion I have for the bound script on trtUser. Instead of setting the maximum for skills to 50 (a number well beyond what you expect to be used), I prefer to not set a maximum.

Here's the bound script on trtUser from the Skeleton files:

Code:
 
<!-- Bound the user value to the limits established for the trait -->
<bound phase="Traits" priority="1000" name="Bound trtUser">
  <before name="Calc trtFinal"/><![CDATA[
  @minimum = field[trtMinimum].value
  @maximum = field[trtMaximum].value
  ]]></bound>
Here's what I modified that to in Cortex and in project Q:

Code:
 
<!-- Bound the user value to the limits established for the trait -->
<bound phase="Traits" priority="1000" name="Bound trtUser">
  <before name="Calc trtFinal"/><![CDATA[
  @minimum = field[trtMinimum].value
  if (field[trtMaximum].value <> 0) then
    @maximum = field[trtMaximum].value
    endif
  ]]></bound>
(That was the first step I did - I've added more complex behaviors to that bound script since then).

So, you'll note that trtMaximum in the skeleton files has a defvalue="10". Delete that, and the defvalue will revert to being 0. So, if nothing else sets a defvalue, there will be no maximum bound. Your attributes can then set the appropriate maximum for themselves, and the skills don't need to do anything, because you want them to stay at an unlimited maximum.

Last edited by Mathias; December 29th, 2009 at 11:56 AM. Reason: Fixed a typo in the script
Mathias is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 29th, 2009, 12:03 PM
You'll need to tell me what trtRoll is first, before I can answer your question in post #5. I don't understand why a trtUser value of 6 doesn't set a trtRoll value, but a trtUser value of 7 has a trtRoll of 1.

Is #6 an attempt to get around the trtMaximum for aliens by adding bonuses to the value? I'd recommend changing the maximum instead.
Mathias is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 767

Old January 3rd, 2010, 02:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAbel View Post
<eval index="5" phase="Traits" priority="8000">
<before name="Calc trtNetRoll"/><![CDATA[
~for Alien with a attribute greater than 6,
if (hero.tagis[Hero.Alien] <> 0) then
if (field[trtUser].value > 6) then
field[trtRoll].value = field[trtUser].value - 6
endif
endif
]]></eval>
I am not sure that I needed this I thought that it was part of the Eval to make the other script work (I got both from the wiki page, so I thought that they belong together).
SAbel is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old January 4th, 2010, 07:58 AM
Which wiki page? I can't find it with a quick scan.
Mathias is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.