Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
TCArknight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 1,321

Old December 10th, 2023, 05:40 PM
The dataset I’m working on classifies weapons, armor, tools and gear as Basic, Advanced, Improvised, etc. instead of just Simple or Martial (or Special).

1) If I create a tag group of EquipmentCat.xxx, what would be the best way to give the proficiency on that item to the hero?

2) Rather than creating a ArmProfGrp.WepBasic, ArmorBasic, etc. is there a way to display the proficiencies as “Equipment: Basic, Advanced” instead of “Weapons: Basic Weapons, Advanced Weapons
Armor: Basic Armor, Advanced Armor” on the Class tab and descriptions?

Thanks!
TC

Working on -
  • (SWADE) WIP Savage Rifts
  • Savage Rifts (Deluxe): Update link in This post
  • Star Trek Adventures: Update link in This post
TCArknight is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Fenris447
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 597

Old December 10th, 2023, 10:51 PM
I think I tried to play with this when I built out the full complement of firearms from the DMG. Unfortunately, I'm pretty certain this is the sort of thing that's hardcoded into the 5e system. I never found a way to make a whole new "set" of weapons that can be treated the same way as martial, simple, etc.

Found an issue with or have a suggestion for the 5e Community Pack? Please post it here at our GitHub.

Feel free to stop by the Lone Wolf Development Subreddit, for discussion of any and all LWD products and community efforts!
Fenris447 is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
TCArknight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 1,321

Old December 12th, 2023, 11:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenris447 View Post
I think I tried to play with this when I built out the full complement of firearms from the DMG. Unfortunately, I'm pretty certain this is the sort of thing that's hardcoded into the 5e system. I never found a way to make a whole new "set" of weapons that can be treated the same way as martial, simple, etc.
Well, I found a partial workaround at least I think. It doesn't do anything about the sorting on the Armory tab, but I do get the proficiency for each weapon working correctly...

1) Added these tags to a mechanic
Code:
    <tag group="Custom" tag="EHGearCatBasic" name="Gear - Basic" abbrev="Basic"/>
    <tag group="Custom" tag="EHGearCatAdv" name="Gear - Advanced" abbrev="Advanced"/>
    <tag group="Custom" tag="EHGearCatHist" name="Gear - Historical" abbrev="Historical"/>
    <tag group="Custom" tag="EHGearCatImprov" name="Gear - Improvised" abbrev="Improvised"/>
    <tag group="Custom" tag="EHGearCatMil" name="Gear - Military" abbrev="Military"/>
2) tagged the weapons with those Custom tags
Code:
  <thing id="wEHDagger" name="Dagger" compset="Weapon">
    <fieldval field="gSizeCost" value="1"/>
    <fieldval field="gWeight" value="1"/>
    <fieldval field="wDieCount" value="1"/>
    <fieldval field="wDieSize" value="4"/>
    <fieldval field="wRangeNorm" value="40"/>
    <fieldval field="wRangeLong" value="80"/>
    <usesource source="srcEverydayH"/>
    <tag group="wProperty" tag="Thrown"/>
    <tag group="EquipType" tag="Metal"/>
    <tag group="wProperty" tag="Finesse"/>
    <tag group="wProperty" tag="Light"/>
    <tag group="wCategory" tag="Melee"/>
    <tag group="DamageType" tag="dtPiercing"/>
    <tag group="Custom" tag="EHGearCatBasic"/>
    </thing>
  <thing id="wEHGrenLauncher" name="Grenade Launcher" description="Grenade launchers are often attached to an assault rifle, but standalone launchers exist. They fire a large grenade cartridge at greater ranges than they could be thrown. Launched grenades are designed to explode on impact rather than based on a timer." compset="Weapon">
    <fieldval field="wRangeNorm" value="300"/>
    <fieldval field="wRangeLong" value="600"/>
    <fieldval field="gSizeCost" value="3"/>
    <fieldval field="gWeight" value="2"/>
    <usesource source="srcEverydayH"/>
    <tag group="Helper" tag="Always2H"/>
    <tag group="EquipType" tag="Metal"/>
    <tag group="wProfReq" tag="Special"/>
    <tag group="wGroup" tag="Military" name="Military Weapons"/>
    <tag group="wCategory" tag="RangeProj"/>
    <tag group="wProperty" tag="Restricted" name="Restricted"/>
    <tag group="wProperty" tag="Indirect" name="Indirect"/>
    <tag group="wProperty" tag="TwoHanded"/>
    <tag group="Custom" tag="EHGearCatMil"/>
    </thing>
3) It looks like the forwarding of the ARMProfGrp.xxx tags happens sometime in the post levels. I added this script to the mechanic at PreAttr/100
Code:
~ Add Basic Weapon Prof
if (hero.tagis[ArmProfGrp.WepBasic] <> 0) then
  foreach thing in BaseWep where "Custom.EHGearCatBasic"
    perform eachthing.pulltags[WepProf.?]
    nexteach

  endif
  
~ Add Military Weapon Prof
if (hero.tagis[ArmProfGrp.WepMilitary] <> 0) then
  foreach thing in BaseWep where "Custom.EHGearCatMil"
    perform eachthing.pulltags[WepProf.?]
    notify "(Mechanic) Military - " & eachthing.field[name].text
    nexteach

  endif

~ push Militaryweapon proficiency tags to hero
perform hero.pushtags[WepProf.?]
4) looking at the Armory tag, the Weapons show up when using the "Only Valid Items" option indicating proficiency.

Thoughts? That should work for the armor and tools too, right?

Working on -
  • (SWADE) WIP Savage Rifts
  • Savage Rifts (Deluxe): Update link in This post
  • Star Trek Adventures: Update link in This post
TCArknight is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.