Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   HL - D&D 5th Edition SRD (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=89)
-   -   Duplicate Proficiencies (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=55939)

FacetiousBlack June 1st, 2016 09:16 AM

Duplicate Proficiencies

I'm very new to HL and 5e, so I apologize if I'm missing something. (I tried a forum search, but didn't see a thread on this.)

If a character is gaining the same proficiency from both a background and a race (i.e. an Elf with the Far Traveler background getting Perception from both) should be allowed to select a different proficiency to replace the duplicate. Is this implemented in HL? I see that I can add proficiencies on the Class tab, but that red "too many skill proficiencies" is an annoyance.

Am I doing it wrong?

Hollis June 10th, 2016 02:58 PM

Is there a rule saying they get an extra skill to replace the duplicate? If so, can you point me to it?

dafrca June 14th, 2016 05:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hollis (Post 230826)
Is there a rule saying they get an extra skill to replace the duplicate? If so, can you point me to it?

PHB Page 125, Sub-header "Proficiencies", third paragraph:

Quote: If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (Skill or Tool) instead. End Quote.

So it is not an "extra" it is a replacement. They end up with the same number of Proficiencies.

jbearwillis June 15th, 2016 06:09 PM

I am very happy some one else noticed this problem as well. I was getting ready to address this one, when I came across this post.

Mergon June 17th, 2016 09:56 AM

I believe there are adjustments that allow the adding of extra proficiencies that allows you to handle this issue. At least that is how I handle these issues.

jbearwillis June 17th, 2016 11:27 AM