Lone Wolf Development Forums

Lone Wolf Development Forums (http://forums.wolflair.com/index.php)
-   HL - Shadowrun (http://forums.wolflair.com/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   Pre-Req's & editing in general. (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=13663)

CeaDawg August 7th, 2011 04:50 PM

Pre-Req's & editing in general.

I'm adding custom qualities and magical traditions to the user file, the editor has a button for pre-reqs.

Where do I find the syntax for this? Or at least a tutorial that actually covers all the features of the editor?

I'm not a programmer, yet. So most of this is a bit foreign to me, and it looks like I'm going to have to give up and learn to punch code to be any good with this thing. Any suggestions for what to study?

cryptoknight August 7th, 2011 05:34 PM

I'm in the same place as you CeaDawg. And I'm familiar with or good with several programming languages. But without an object model or a functional reference, it's really hard to try to add the qualities from the books presently not covered in the base files.

Duggan August 8th, 2011 05:58 AM

Generally, the best way to learn is to look at the existing code. If you do an Add Copy, do any of the existing items have pre-reqs that resemble what you want?

cryptoknight August 8th, 2011 01:38 PM

Not that I can see, I've found the resource script I need to edit in order to enable Born Rich to work, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to make it test for the quality born rich. If I could, I could then make a quick mod and be good, and continue trying to put in all of Runner's Companion

CeaDawg August 8th, 2011 05:08 PM

Neither of the 2 traditions (Hermetic & Shaman) show pre-reqs or expr-reqs. However, the Quality Elf Poser does have an expr-req: #hasrace [racHuman] <> 0

The traditions is what I'm working atm & is eating my lunch trying to make Path of the Wheel and all of it's sub-traditions work.