Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PO232
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 3

Old August 11th, 2009, 08:02 AM
I can't access most of the data files I currently have downloaded. I get syntax error messages and AB shuts down giving me the following error: C:\Docume~1\Daniel~1\Locals~1\Temp\wderror5720.txt
I was using AB3.1 just prior to the upgrade and had no problems. I've tried re-loading the files and this doesn't work. My license is fine, and some of the larger files are available for use.
Anyone else having this problem??
PO232 is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
PO232
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 3

Old August 11th, 2009, 08:08 AM
The effected files on my system are Aeronautica Imperialis, Battle Fleet Gothic, Necromunda and Warhammer 40K 4th Edition.
PO232 is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,873

Old August 11th, 2009, 08:59 AM
The error messages are due to your copy of AB being configured for data file debugging (i.e. authoring data files) instead of running as a simple user. With the switch to V3.2, the compiler is now doing much better error checking of data files, so errors that slipped through in V3.1 are now being caught and reported. All of this extra checking is only turned on when data file debugging is enabled (for authors). When that is turned off, all V3.1 data files should load properly in V3.2.

So the solution is to load a game system that is safe (e.g. the sample files), go to the Developer menu, and turn off data file debugging. After that, you should be good to go.
rob is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
shaggai
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Author
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Matawan, NJ, USA
Posts: 159

Old August 11th, 2009, 04:45 PM
The AB40K maintainer have just posted a new general release which handles this small problem. You may download it from: http://www.ab40k.org/modules.php?nam...=getit&lid=139.

After an initial testing period, the general release will be available for download (with the possibility of additional corrections) through the AB's "NEW UPDATES" mechanism.
shaggai is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
PO232
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 3

Old August 11th, 2009, 09:00 PM
I want to thank Rob and Shaggai for their help. I disabled the debugging and downloaded the general release and now I have my files back. A big thanks guys!!!
PO232 is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
freddy326
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2

Old August 17th, 2009, 10:56 PM
Hi,

I've got the same problem with Flames of War files, but when I load the sample file and go to the develop menu, the debugger doesn't appear to be enabled.

the only options I have are 'Enable Datafile debugging' and 'enable skin debugging'

anyone got any ideas about how to fix the problem?
freddy326 is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old August 19th, 2009, 12:52 PM
freddy326, can you describe exactly which data files you're using, and what problem is occurring? I just downloaded the Flames of War v1.0 data files from the updates mechanism, and it seems to be working perfectly for me.
Colen is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
freddy326
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2

Old August 20th, 2009, 10:42 PM
Hi,

I upgraded from 3.1C to 3.2 and have retained the original Flames of war, flames of war 2 files. I've downloaded the flames of war 3 data files as well.

The fow 3 file crashes Army builder from the main menu, I can open the original flame of war list, create an army and then save it. If I try to reload it then crashes out.

I tried switching game systems from within the application that let me get into the saved file once.

Last edited by freddy326; August 20th, 2009 at 10:49 PM.
freddy326 is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old August 26th, 2009, 03:13 PM
When AB crashes, it should tell you where to find a file with the crash information. Can you copy and paste the contents of that file into here, so we can take a look at them? That should hopefully help us diagnose things.

Thanks!
Colen is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.