Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Shadowy_one
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 40

Old December 2nd, 2017, 12:42 AM
Hi!

For several days now I've not been able to sync one of my realms on one of my Computers. (I have two.) I don't have any Problems on the other Computer or with my other realms (I currently have five.). My player also don't have problems syncing this realm.

Has anyone ever encountered this Problem? Any ideas on how I can fix it without having to completely reinstall my computer?

Thanks in advace.

Cheers,

Shadowy_one
Shadowy_one is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
daplunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,779

Old December 2nd, 2017, 12:46 AM
I used to have this a lot on a wireless connection that turned out to be dodgy.

Realm Works - Community Links
Realm Work and Hero Lab Videos
Ream Works Facebook User Group
Realm Works - Community Content List
CC3+ Facebook User Group

D&D 5e Community Pack - Contributor
General Hero Lab Support & Community Resources
D&D 5e Community Pack - Install Instructions / D&D 5e Community Pack - Log Fault / D&D 5e Community Pack - Editor Knowledge Base
daplunk is online now   #2 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 916

Old December 2nd, 2017, 01:33 AM
How big is the realm in question? I've had some issues syncing a big realm over WiFi.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Shadowy_one
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 40

Old December 2nd, 2017, 05:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
How big is the realm in question? I've had some issues syncing a big realm over WiFi.
It's a really big realm, but I'm connected via LAN nocht WiFi.
Shadowy_one is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 916

Old December 2nd, 2017, 06:28 AM
Is your connection spotty? A sync requires a stable connection throughout the operation.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Shadowy_one
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 40

Old December 2nd, 2017, 07:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
Is your connection spotty? A sync requires a stable connection throughout the operation.
Not that I've noticed. It worked fine up until about two weeks ago. I've had this happen before. Then I reinstalled My Computer and the Problem was solved, but I don't want to do that again everytime...
Shadowy_one is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
HippyCraig
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 96

Old December 2nd, 2017, 07:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowy_one View Post
Not that I've noticed. It worked fine up until about two weeks ago. I've had this happen before. Then I reinstalled My Computer and the Problem was solved, but I don't want to do that again everytime...
Try testing using a speed test it might show if you having spotty service you can also try unplugging you modem if you have one for 10 minutes and plug it back in. This will get the modem to phone home for a new public IP address Sometimes they donít renew properly and this will force it to
HippyCraig is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Shadowy_one
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 40

Old December 2nd, 2017, 08:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by HippyCraig View Post
Try testing using a speed test it might show if you having spotty service you can also try unplugging you modem if you have one for 10 minutes and plug it back in. This will get the modem to phone home for a new public IP address Sometimes they donít renew properly and this will force it to
I can try that, but I doubt it will solve the problem. A Laptop (using WiFi) in the same LAN is syncing just fine. My guess is that it is some Setting on my PC.
Shadowy_one is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 916

Old December 2nd, 2017, 11:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowy_one View Post
I can try that, but I doubt it will solve the problem. A Laptop (using WiFi) in the same LAN is syncing just fine. My guess is that it is some Setting on my PC.
Then I'd try these things:

1) Compress your DB and then sync all your realms.
Launch RW -> Login -> Tools -> Manage DataBase -> Compress Database
Then sync all.

If that doesn't improve things:
2) reinstall RW and your local data. Backup your DB before hand in case thing don't work out so you don't lose your data.

If neither of those things fixes things I'd guess the problem is in your OS and not in RW. RW might be simply the first app to detect the problem.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Shadowy_one
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 40

Old December 4th, 2017, 01:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
Then I'd try these things:

1) Compress your DB and then sync all your realms.
Launch RW -> Login -> Tools -> Manage DataBase -> Compress Database
Then sync all.

If that doesn't improve things:
2) reinstall RW and your local data. Backup your DB before hand in case thing don't work out so you don't lose your data.

If neither of those things fixes things I'd guess the problem is in your OS and not in RW. RW might be simply the first app to detect the problem.
Tried it, didn't work. It's definitely a Problem in the OS. Never doubted that. If it weren't I would be having the same Problem on the other Computer as well...
Shadowy_one is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.