Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - 4th Edition

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 743

Old May 5th, 2017, 08:02 PM
I have started with the Tinker Gnome [hey i m tinkering with the program so why not]

Okay so I have the base tinker gnome in, i have its racial power/feats, I have Tinker Gnome Feats in, BUT I can not for the life of me get the Utilities to show up?

Here are two of them Level 2 and 6 Utility

<thing id="pwSmoExec" name="Smooth Excution" description="{b}Trigger{/b}: You make an Arcana, Dungeoneering, or Thievery check.\n\n{b}Effect{/b}: Roll the check twice, and take either result." compset="Power">
<fieldval field="pwFlavor" value="Measure twice, cut once."/>
<usesource source="Dragon"/>
<tag group="PowerType" tag="Utility"/>
<tag group="PowerUse" tag="Encounter"/>
<tag group="AttackType" tag="Personal"/>
<tag group="ReqLevel" tag="2"/>
<tag group="ActionType" tag="Free"/>
<tag group="PowerClass" tag="Race"/>
</thing>
<thing id="pwFraIns" name="Frantic Inspiration" description="{b}Trigger{/b}: You make an attack roll.\n\n{b}Effect{/b}: If the attack roll hits the target?s lowest defense, then the attack hits." compset="Power">
<fieldval field="pwFlavor" value="Your intellect allows you to spot weaknesses in a foe?s defenses."/>
<usesource source="Dragon"/>
<tag group="ReqLevel" tag="6"/>
<tag group="PowerUse" tag="Encounter"/>
<tag group="AttackType" tag="Personal"/>
<tag group="ActionType" tag="Free"/>
<tag group="PowerType" tag="Utility"/>
</thing>
SAbel is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 878

Old May 5th, 2017, 08:25 PM
Have you bootstrapped the powers onto the race?

Currently Running: Pathfinder Playtest (Doomsday Dawn)
On Hiatus: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently Playing: Mutants & Masterminds 3E, D&D 4e
Former Games: Savage Worlds, M&M 2E
charlieluce is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 743

Old May 6th, 2017, 08:23 PM
These are the Race related Utility powers that are at levels so I did not think that they would need to be bootstrapped to the race, only auto acquired power would have to be bootstrapped
SAbel is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 743

Old May 6th, 2017, 08:54 PM
The problem seem that I can not make a utility power period, it tests and says ready to use but they will not show up? any ideas?
SAbel is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 878

Old May 7th, 2017, 08:49 AM
Are you sure that you have your Source selected? That's the only thing I can think of.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Playtest (Doomsday Dawn)
On Hiatus: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently Playing: Mutants & Masterminds 3E, D&D 4e
Former Games: Savage Worlds, M&M 2E
charlieluce is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 743

Old May 7th, 2017, 01:58 PM
I have the source from Dragon Mag, but either or without I can not make a Utility power show up!?!?!

I am not sure what is the reason but just making a utility power for the game (even a just to test one) they will not show up as choices. I am sure that I am missing something [like the typo I caught in Excution => Execution ] But that is not enough to stop the power from showing up.

I am in my busy time of year in RL plus family life issues so I will have to wait unless someone out there knows what I am missing.

:P
Thanks all for the help keep trying! [Wait no try succeed or fail]
SAbel is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 878

Old May 7th, 2017, 10:14 PM
I tried making a test user file with Smooth Execution in it, and I was testing it with my Paladin character. I found that if I changed it to a Paladin power it showed up, but if I had it set to Race or another class it didn't. I'll have to consult my expert on this one.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Playtest (Doomsday Dawn)
On Hiatus: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently Playing: Mutants & Masterminds 3E, D&D 4e
Former Games: Savage Worlds, M&M 2E
charlieluce is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 743

Old May 8th, 2017, 04:56 PM
Charlieluce,
I tried it with no Power Class Tag [for Race] or class and did not have it show up, but you are correct it shows up when I placed Power Class Artificer? ????
Ok so not sure what to make of that?
Now to really dig in, Wish Colen still haunted this forum since he was the 4E guy at LW
SAbel is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 878

Old May 12th, 2017, 07:01 PM
After my wife (who is the local coding expert) could not see any way to make it work, it finally occurred to me to do a search on the CryptoKnight forum to see it it had come up.

It turns out that Racial Utility Powers do not work properly in HeroLab 4e which means it would have to be fixed in the base game system code. That's a level of work that no one locally has ever tried before, though I'm not going to say that she might not decide to take a look at it.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Playtest (Doomsday Dawn)
On Hiatus: Pathfinder (Iron Gods AP)
Currently Playing: Mutants & Masterminds 3E, D&D 4e
Former Games: Savage Worlds, M&M 2E
charlieluce is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
SAbel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Walbridge, Ohio
Posts: 743

Old May 20th, 2017, 09:01 PM
Charlieluce
I have my fingers crossed that she will attempt it and make it all work! If your going to GenCon My Wife and I will be there we can meet up or you can play in one of our 4E games if you guys like they are all listed under Mackenzie's Marauders.

Sean
SAbel is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.