Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

saintaurik

Old November 11th, 2013, 01:04 PM
I have a race that uses shortbows and gains a +1 bonus to attack with them. It shows up fine for a normal shortbow or composite shortbow but when a magical shortbow is equipped the bonus +1 does not get added in. I'm very new to this and not sure if I did the eval right.
Here it is:

~find all our shortbows and add +1 to hit

foreach pick in hero from BaseWep where "IsWeapon.wShortbow | wCategory.RangeProj"
eachpick.field[wAttRanged].value += 1
nexteach
saintaurik is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Kendall-DM
Spy

Old November 12th, 2013, 09:48 AM
I don't know the code right off the top of my head at the moment, but when you have magical weapons (and masterwork weapons as well), you need to reference the parent container of the object that is getting the bonus. This is an oddity of custom weapons and armor that I've run into more than a few times when coding HL.

A little pseudo-code that might help:

if (container.ishero <> 0)
field[wRanged].value += 1
else
container.parent.field[wRanged].value += 1
endif

Hope that helps!
Kendall-DM is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Sendric

Old November 12th, 2013, 10:02 AM
When you have a magic weapon (or masterwork weapon), you get a minimum +1 bonus to attack built in. This bonus is applied to the field [wAttBonus]. Without going through the exercise, my guess is that when this happens, the bonus you are applying to [wAttRanged] is not stacking. If you adjust your script to change wAttBonus instead, it would probably work.

Also, the addition of "wCategory.RangeProj" in the foreach seems extraneous based on your description of the ability.

Last edited by Sendric; November 12th, 2013 at 10:04 AM.
Sendric is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Kendall-DM
Spy

Old November 12th, 2013, 10:39 AM