Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,538

Old September 19th, 2013, 12:54 PM
I'm also planning to add an optional rule for Hit Dice at all levels.

I used to allow people to keep gaining hit dice instead of the constant hit points after 9th or 10th and apparently I wasn't the only person doing it. It was also what encouraged players to multiclass, as they could gain hit dice in both classes instead of constant hit points.



Mathias,

Do I need two language components or one?

RavenX

Please do not PM me to inquire about datafiles I coded "for personal use" such as Exalted, World of Darkness, AD&D, or Warhammer 40K Roleplaying. I appreciate your interest, but I do not own the Intellectual Property rights to these game systems. Nor do I have permission from any of the Publishers to distribute the data files. As such, I cannot distribute the work I have done with community on these files. They are "for personal use" only. Thank you.
RavenX is offline   #11 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,239

Old September 19th, 2013, 01:16 PM
RavenX, all of my 2ed books are stored in the attic, and I have not looked at them in years. I have no memory of how languages worked back in 2ed.

Also, please make your questions for me more obvious. If they're mixed into posts that are unrelated to the question you're asking me, I'm going to end up missing some of them.
Mathias is offline   #12 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,538

Old September 19th, 2013, 01:27 PM
Mathias,

Languages in 2e work the same way they do in Pathfinder, but no Automatic languages. The user has a list of languages they can choose from, outlined in the race descriptions.

As a player gains levels, they gain non-weapon proficiency slots, which may be used to purchase more language slots or skills.

RavenX

Please do not PM me to inquire about datafiles I coded "for personal use" such as Exalted, World of Darkness, AD&D, or Warhammer 40K Roleplaying. I appreciate your interest, but I do not own the Intellectual Property rights to these game systems. Nor do I have permission from any of the Publishers to distribute the data files. As such, I cannot distribute the work I have done with community on these files. They are "for personal use" only. Thank you.
RavenX is offline   #13 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,239

Old September 19th, 2013, 01:35 PM
Sounds like languages are more like in Shadowrun, then, where they're one of the categories of skills that you can choose from.
Mathias is offline   #14 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,538

Old September 19th, 2013, 01:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
Sounds like languages are more like in Shadowrun, then, where they're one of the categories of skills that you can choose from.
They are.

You can choose: language, ancient as a proficiency, and the add a language from that category.

The only time you'd have to add an additional slot to the slot cost is for literacy if the optional rules are used.

RavenX

Please do not PM me to inquire about datafiles I coded "for personal use" such as Exalted, World of Darkness, AD&D, or Warhammer 40K Roleplaying. I appreciate your interest, but I do not own the Intellectual Property rights to these game systems. Nor do I have permission from any of the Publishers to distribute the data files. As such, I cannot distribute the work I have done with community on these files. They are "for personal use" only. Thank you.
RavenX is offline   #15 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,538

Old September 19th, 2013, 02:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
Sounds like languages are more like in Shadowrun, then, where they're one of the categories of skills that you can choose from.
Based on what you've said I might only need on component for languages then.

RavenX

Please do not PM me to inquire about datafiles I coded "for personal use" such as Exalted, World of Darkness, AD&D, or Warhammer 40K Roleplaying. I appreciate your interest, but I do not own the Intellectual Property rights to these game systems. Nor do I have permission from any of the Publishers to distribute the data files. As such, I cannot distribute the work I have done with community on these files. They are "for personal use" only. Thank you.
RavenX is offline   #16 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,239

Old September 19th, 2013, 02:53 PM
My suggestion was intended to point you towards something similar, so that you could study that, and decide for yourself which way was best to handle this. You haven't told me what the difference between the two components would be if there were two components, so I don't know enough yet to answer the original question.
Mathias is offline   #17 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,538

Old September 19th, 2013, 03:10 PM
The only difference would be starting languages added at creation, and those added afterwards. But I could rig the skill to add language slots instead and let the user just add languages via the background tab.

RavenX

Please do not PM me to inquire about datafiles I coded "for personal use" such as Exalted, World of Darkness, AD&D, or Warhammer 40K Roleplaying. I appreciate your interest, but I do not own the Intellectual Property rights to these game systems. Nor do I have permission from any of the Publishers to distribute the data files. As such, I cannot distribute the work I have done with community on these files. They are "for personal use" only. Thank you.
RavenX is offline   #18 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,239

Old September 19th, 2013, 03:24 PM
That sounds like a difference in tags, not a difference in components.
Mathias is offline   #19 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere, Virginia
Posts: 3,538

Old September 19th, 2013, 03:33 PM
How can I have Hero Lab assign tags saying languages added through the background portal gets Helper.StartLang while languages added via the personal tab get Helper.LearnLang?

I'm not sure how I can get the tag assigned based on which portal the language is added under.

RavenX

Please do not PM me to inquire about datafiles I coded "for personal use" such as Exalted, World of Darkness, AD&D, or Warhammer 40K Roleplaying. I appreciate your interest, but I do not own the Intellectual Property rights to these game systems. Nor do I have permission from any of the Publishers to distribute the data files. As such, I cannot distribute the work I have done with community on these files. They are "for personal use" only. Thank you.
RavenX is offline   #20 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.