Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
concerro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13

Old September 21st, 2011, 12:23 PM
I am trying to create a race, but I keep getting an error
File: "file name".user(line 3)-Thing- Invalid unique id

What could be causing that?
concerro is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,665

Old September 21st, 2011, 12:27 PM
Did you make any copies? The copies have question marks in their Ids, and ? aren't allowed in Ids, so you'll need to delete the copies before you try to test your real thing.
Mathias is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
concerro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13

Old September 21st, 2011, 12:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
Did you make any copies? The copies have question marks in their Ids, and ? aren't allowed in Ids, so you'll need to delete the copies before you try to test your real thing.
No I don't have any copies. I even deleted all of the other files I was working on to make sure there is no cross interefence. That one file is the only instance of anything I am working on. I have no troubles with class/monster levels, but the races are not cooperating.

I was trying to recreate the mindflayer as my first project. I created mindblast as a spell, and that had an error also, but I think that one was line 41 or 43.
concerro is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,665

Old September 21st, 2011, 12:34 PM
What did you enter as the "Unique Id" for each of the things you've created in the editor?
Mathias is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
concerro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13

Old September 21st, 2011, 12:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
What did you enter as the "Unique Id" for each of the things you've created in the editor?
For the mindflayer I used several names. An example is Rmindflay1

For mindblast I used mindblast.

I do have to go soon, but I will check this thread when I get off work.
concerro is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,665

Old September 21st, 2011, 01:15 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by concerro View Post
For the mindflayer I used several names. An example is Rmindflay1

For mindblast I used mindblast.

I do have to go soon, but I will check this thread when I get off work.
I think there's a character in one of those Ids that's not allowed for use in an Id, so I'd recommend listing all of the ones you used - that way, I can check them for anything that's not allowed.
Mathias is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
concerro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13

Old September 22nd, 2011, 11:46 AM
I got home, started from scratch, and everything worked on the first go around. I even got mind blast to works.

I have a new issue however. I tried to create the battle sorcerer variant class from 3.5.

I "copied" the sorcerer base class, and made it availible for herolab. I then tried to add a bloodline, and I got the message "nothing to choose from".
concerro is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,665

Old September 22nd, 2011, 11:56 AM
In the "Allow Custom Abilities?" option, you need to tell your new class that it can use the custom abilities that a Sorcerer uses.
Mathias is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
concerro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13

Old September 22nd, 2011, 12:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias View Post
In the "Allow Custom Abilities?" option, you need to tell your new class that it can use the custom abilities that a Sorcerer uses.
Is that in the regular part of Herolab or the part where I design the new class?
concerro is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,665

Old September 22nd, 2011, 12:37 PM
It's one of the editor options on the Class tab.
Mathias is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright 1998-2014 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.