Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,727

Old July 3rd, 2010, 09:44 AM
I was trying to organize my list of custom sources better as I have a good number of them now. I was hoping I could make my own Parent sources that I could then add source books under them as children. In example make one called "Paizo" or "Super Genius Games".

I found this old POST in the d20 forums and tried to use. I hoped it would still work in pathfinder as they are pretty close.

Here is what I used:
Code:
<usesource source="SGG" name="Super Genius Games" selectable="no"/>
and I get the following error: line 16 - Unrecognized attribute 'selectable' in element 'usesource'

Line 16 I double checked is the above....

Is their a new element name? Can this be done in Pathfinder?

Thanks

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old July 3rd, 2010, 10:48 AM
Try this:
Code:
<usesource source="SGG" name="Super Genius Games"/>
FYI, this can be done via the editor as well.
huntercc is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,727

Old July 3rd, 2010, 11:16 AM
Thanks, but that just makes it a normal Source. Which yep I do all the time in the editor.

What I am trying to do is make it a Parent source. Like how things like "Pathfinder Society", "Sources", "Pathfinder Adventure Paths" or "House Rules" are parent sources. This way I can make Children sources that go under it.

That old post shows how to do that, but I guess it only works in d20 not Pathfinder as I get an error. So hoping their is a new element type that allows it to be made for pathfinder.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old July 3rd, 2010, 12:15 PM
Gotcha... didn't understand your full intent. Not sure how to do that one
huntercc is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old July 3rd, 2010, 01:28 PM
I got it, but it involves creating a new file. I got this from reviewing the Authoring Kit documentation, and the Savage Worlds source files:

1 - Create a new file called MySources.1st (the name is unimportant, but it must have an extension of .1st) and save it to your "pathfinder" data directory

2 - Insert the following code and save:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<document signature="Hero Lab Structure">

  <source
    id="SGG"
    name="Super Genius Games"
    selectable="no"
    sortorder="0"
    description="Any description you want">
    </source>

  <source
    id="SGGMon"
    name="My Monsters"
    parent="SGG"
    description="Any description">
    </source>

  </document>
3 - Just add your child source to any "thing" as you normally would

4 - Reload the data files

I've tested this successfully myself, it should work for you as well!
huntercc is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,727

Old July 3rd, 2010, 04:13 PM
Awesome! Thank you Huntercc.

Too bad I have to create a new file, but it will work for my players at least.

Thank you.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
Grog
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 45

Old July 4th, 2010, 11:02 AM
Good find.

I'm going to try that myself.

Grog
Grog is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old July 6th, 2010, 04:12 AM
You can designate any source as a parent source by simply defining a new source and identifying the desired source as its parent. So if you define SourceA and then want SourceB to be its child, assign SourceB to a thing and specify SourceA as the "Parent Source" when assigning SourceB.

Of course, the only way to define a brand new source within the Editor is to assign a thing to it. If you simply want to create a new source that has *no* things assigned to it, you need to define the source manually within a data file. For that, the syntax is defined within the Authoring Kit wiki, and the examples above will work.
rob is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,727

Old July 6th, 2010, 07:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob View Post
You can designate any source as a parent source by simply defining a new source and identifying the desired source as its parent. So if you define SourceA and then want SourceB to be its child, assign SourceB to a thing and specify SourceA as the "Parent Source" when assigning SourceB.
Well this was the very first thing I did. Well if I am understanding what you are saying. In example I have a new source called SGG. Then I tried to create a new source called SGG1 that had SGG as it's parent. This was all done from inside the editor. What I got was an error message about 'Selectable' sources can't be chosen. Or something like that but I am not near HL to get the exact error message right now.

Do I need to do the above outside the editor directly in the XML .user file somehow?

Thanks

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8,232

Old July 6th, 2010, 03:22 PM
Doh! I completely forgot that we added that stipulation awhile back. You're right. It's not valid to have a source be both a parent *and* have things dependent upon it. We changed that because it could enable some very strange and confusing behaviors to be established.

You *will* need to define the parent source separately within its own data file, following the example given by huntercc in post #5.

Sorry for the confusion. :-(
rob is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.