Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > Hero Lab Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
charlieluce
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,240

Old February 23rd, 2016, 05:40 PM
It would be nice if Hero Lab didn't bother me about updates to systems that I haven't downloaded, much less purchased.

Currently Running: Pathfinder Second Edition
Currently Playing:
Pathfinder First Edition
Former Games: D&D (4e & 5e), Mutants & Masterminds (2E & 3E), Savage Worlds
charlieluce is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
MNBlockHead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Twin Cities Area, MN, USA
Posts: 1,322

Old February 23rd, 2016, 07:10 PM
+100 I don't want to see a list of updates for Systems I don't have installed. In the dropdown filter list in the lower right of the update diaglog box, add an option to only show updates for owned systems (or "My systems only").

Also, after I've downloaded and applied an update, that update still appears in the list. I never know what updates are new.

RW Project: Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition homebrew world
Other Tools: CampaignCartographer, Cityographer, Dungeonographer, Evernote
MNBlockHead is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
AndrewD2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,978

Old February 23rd, 2016, 07:54 PM
Well you can always delete the folders of the systems you don't own, then it won't show those anymore.
AndrewD2 is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
MNBlockHead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Twin Cities Area, MN, USA
Posts: 1,322

Old February 23rd, 2016, 08:59 PM
That only removes the list of systems in the system-selection screen, not the list of updates. Unless I'm missing another folder.

I deleted the folders of the systems I don't own from the following directory:

C:\ProgramData\Hero Lab\data

Is there another location I should remove folders from so that the updates for these systems don't appear in the find-updates screen?

RW Project: Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition homebrew world
Other Tools: CampaignCartographer, Cityographer, Dungeonographer, Evernote
MNBlockHead is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,730

Old February 23rd, 2016, 09:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlockHead View Post
That only removes the list of systems in the system-selection screen, not the list of updates. Unless I'm missing another folder.

I deleted the folders of the systems I don't own from the following directory:

C:\ProgramData\Hero Lab\data

Is there another location I should remove folders from so that the updates for these systems don't appear in the find-updates screen?
Nope your done now. Can't remove from the updates list. Which makes sense because what happens tomorrow if you want to download Pathfinder or Shadowrun?

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.

Last edited by ShadowChemosh; February 23rd, 2016 at 09:37 PM.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,387

Old February 23rd, 2016, 11:55 PM
A tick box in the updates window would help. To either show everything, or only for the systems for which you're licensed/downloaded.

(Bearing in mind that projects built with the Authoring Kit might have updates available, but are not actually licensed projects).
Farling is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
zero_traveler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15

Old February 25th, 2016, 06:55 AM
Not sure if this is where this goes...

Something is up with the way my Herolab updates?

It tells me there's an update for HeroLab, so I click the "Go ahead and update" button.

It downloads the Update file.

Then it tells me that HeroLab will automatically close and update, and I click "Ok".

And nothing happens. It just sits there on the list of Updates I had just opened.

It doesn't actually try to update until I manually close out of HeroLab. Is something out of whack, or what?
zero_traveler is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
ShadowChemosh
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL (USA)
Posts: 10,730

Old February 25th, 2016, 09:04 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero_traveler View Post
Not sure if this is where this goes...

Something is up with the way my Herolab updates?

It tells me there's an update for HeroLab, so I click the "Go ahead and update" button.

It downloads the Update file.

Then it tells me that HeroLab will automatically close and update, and I click "Ok".

And nothing happens. It just sits there on the list of Updates I had just opened.

It doesn't actually try to update until I manually close out of HeroLab. Is something out of whack, or what?
This sounds like a bug actually that should be reported to LW by sending them an email at support@wolflair.com.

Hero Lab Resources:
Pathfinder - d20pfsrd and Pathfinder Pack Setup
3.5 D&D (d20) - Community Server Setup
5E D&D - Community Server Setup
Hero Lab Help - Hero Lab FAQ, Editor Tutorials and Videos, Editor & Scripting Resources.
Created by the community for the community
- Realm Works kickstarter backer (Alpha Wolf) and Beta tester.
- d20 HL package volunteer editor.
ShadowChemosh is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.