Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
BubbaDave
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: West Coast
Posts: 13

Old July 11th, 2019, 05:11 PM
My realm is growing daily as I've been adding stubs at a prolific pace. My drives, unfortunately are all HDDs and the process, while once swift, is really bogging down now. As I understand it, SSDs should be the way to go with Realmworks due to speed? So, my questions are:
  • Is the RW save file static on my C: drive?
  • If I get a SSD external, is there a way to save there instead, and if I can, will it speed up response times?
  • If I cannot switch file locations and if I can manage to sync to the cloud backup (they're looking into why my main realm is timing out), would an uninstall of RW and subsequent re-install on a new internal SSD be wise?

Any other tips for speeding up response times?
BubbaDave is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,580

Old July 11th, 2019, 06:14 PM
The save location is \users\[user name]\AppData\Roaming\LWD Technology, Inc\Realm Works\MASTER.REALM

Changing that location isn't possible in RW. One person claimed he'd made using a symlink work but I tried it a long time ago and it didn't work. YMMV.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Parody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,322

Old July 11th, 2019, 08:31 PM
If your boot drive is a hard drive, you should consider replacing it with an SSD. It will speed up your entire system.

Parody is online now   #3 Reply With Quote
Valyar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 266

Old July 12th, 2019, 09:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
The save location is \users\[user name]\AppData\Roaming\LWD Technology, Inc\Realm Works\MASTER.REALM

Changing that location isn't possible in RW. One person claimed he'd made using a symlink work but I tried it a long time ago and it didn't work. YMMV.
It is still working
https://forums.wolflair.com/showthre...light=symbolic

The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.
Valyar is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Acenoid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 693

Old July 13th, 2019, 03:00 AM
A junction will work. I have tried this. Not currently in use at the moment, but there are some past threads about this. Let us know what exactly the problem / error is.

Join the (unofficial) Realm-Works IRC Chat: #realm-works on the Rizon Network (https://wiki.rizon.net/index.php?title=Servers)
-> Browser Client: https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.rizon.net
Acenoid is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
BubbaDave
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: West Coast
Posts: 13

Old July 14th, 2019, 04:59 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
The save location is \users\[user name]\AppData\Roaming\LWD Technology, Inc\Realm Works\MASTER.REALM

Changing that location isn't possible in RW. One person claimed he'd made using a symlink work but I tried it a long time ago and it didn't work. YMMV.
So, the obvious next question. What happens if I add an SSD internal to my computer? If I uninstall RW, would I be able to re-install onto the new SSD? That is, of course, if they fix my sync problem.
BubbaDave is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,580

Old July 14th, 2019, 05:29 PM
You can install RW anywhere you want.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 2,034

Old July 14th, 2019, 11:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbs666 View Post
You can install RW anywhere you want.
But the database (which is the real thing that needs to be on an SSD) will remain in the location posted above.

Farling

Author of the Realm Works Import (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=58156) and Output tools (http://forums.wolflair.com/showthread.php?t=59981)
Farling is online now   #8 Reply With Quote
dgagnon99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 29

Old August 3rd, 2019, 04:33 AM
Personally, I will want to have this functionality (Alternative Save File Location) added as part of a future release/update. I always try to have my data separated from the OS drive to reduce loss when it crashed or I lose access to it.


Granted (my POV only), this is the windows wild west way of saving user data, where most developer can decide where data will be saved without giving user any choice on where they would like it to reside.
dgagnon99 is offline   #9 Reply With Quote
kbs666
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,580

Old August 3rd, 2019, 06:52 AM
Using appdata is the Microsoft preferred way to save data. It lets multiple users on the same computer have their own separate data, in theory.

my Realm Works videos
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZU...4DwXXkvmBXQ9Yw
kbs666 is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.