Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Army Builder Forums > Army Builder

Notices

Bluefool

Old January 27th, 2006, 09:59 AM
Ok, I'm trying to set up an option so that if you select one option, the daughter option appears and you can select if if you want.

I've tried setting child types, setting one option as a link to the other and its various settings, and I'm not getting it. The second option never appears.

I also tried ripping of other data files (yes, its a habit now...), and still no luck.

Can someone point me yet again to the appropriate doc section?

And before I get flamed for it, yes I have read the documentation...all of it. However, I'm not a programmer and so most of it is out of context to me or just plain greek. Finding the answer in the docs means knowing exactly how to phrase the question, which I'm learnign but its still getting there.

And, thanks again for all the info people have posted below; it got me a huge leap in understanding, and it is adding up...slowly perhaps in my case .
Bluefool is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
harkan
Volunteer Data File Author

Old January 27th, 2006, 11:22 AM
u can set the first option to attach a tag to the unit using unit.assign and then set the second option to have a live statement to check for this new tag. Ensure the second option has a lower priority that the first option though otherwise it won't work.

i.e u have a unit with an option that is add spears. When the unit has got spears and only when they can choose shields. Attached to the eval script for the option 'spears' is:

var retval as number
retval = unit.assign[defence.shield]

and in the live statement for the option shield is:

defence.shield

In this example the spear option is at priority 10, the shield is at priority 20
harkan is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
rob
Lone Wolf Staff

Old January 27th, 2006, 12:18 PM
At 10:59 AM 1/27/2006, you wrote:

Quote: