Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Savage Worlds
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Gumbytie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 235

Old July 29th, 2023, 02:51 PM
Yet another question. The various language rules are equal to Smarts or equal to Half Smarts etc.

But is there a way to start with that but keep the languages from increasing every-time the character raises their Smarts. In other words, starting character gets the Smarts/Half-Smarts at character creation.

After that, the only way to get new languages is via buying a new language skill or something similar.

I just don't like every-time character gets smarter, they automatically get a new language.
Gumbytie is online now   #1 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,550

Old July 30th, 2023, 12:09 PM
Don't base it on Smarts directly. Grab the value, then use a trap so it only gets modified when in creation mode.
if (state.iscreate <> 0) then

_
Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder, SWADE Fantasy Companion
Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Sci-Fi Companion
_
Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme)
Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane
Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd
CapedCrusader is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Gumbytie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 235

Old July 30th, 2023, 12:38 PM
Okay, some clarification. This is for Deluxe setting right now. Eventually will roll this over to SWADE but that will utilize its default language method probably.

So for now. I came up with this script (with debugs!):
Final/2000
Code:
if (state.iscreate <> 0) then
var bonus as number
bonus = #trait[attrSma]

debug #trait[attrSma]
debug bonus

   if (hero.tagis[source.Language] = 0) then
     #resmax[resLang] += bonus
     #resleft[resLang] += bonus

     debug #trait[attrSma]
     debug bonus
   endif

endif
And according to Debug I am getting all my variables.

But I am not using language as skills, I am using the option for the languages option that opens under Skills on Skills tab.

lgLanguage is the field I am using for languages.

However, the only way I know to "open" that is using this code:

Initialization/1000
Code:
perform hero.assign[Hero.SmartsLang]
trustme
But that seems to use the Smarts language code somewhere so it ignores my previous code and adds a new language option and domain field everytime Smarts increases. So is there another method to "unlock" and open that language option?

I hope this makes sense, it does in my head, sigh.

Last edited by Gumbytie; July 30th, 2023 at 12:46 PM.
Gumbytie is online now   #3 Reply With Quote
Gumbytie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 235

Old July 30th, 2023, 01:57 PM
Okay, getting somewhere now. Lots of cups of coffee.

1. So on the Setting Adjust file make sure "Multiple Languages" checked.

2. Go with Smarts d4

3. Use this Mechanic script for starting languages:
Final/2000
Code:
if (state.iscreate <> 0) then
var bonus as number
bonus = #trait[attrSma]

debug #trait[attrSma]
debug bonus

   if (hero.tagis[source.Language] = 0) then
     #resmax[resLang] += bonus
     #resleft[resLang] += bonus

     debug #trait[attrSma]
     debug bonus
   endif

endif
All good so far, no errors, works great.

Lock your character for Advancement and the errors appear.

Under the languages you are now 2 of 0 (2 Overspent). Language Slots: -2(0).

So I assume I need to set the Language slots in the above script perhaps? Or in another? Will play around but getting closer. Language Slots = resLang, but it gets lost when character locked for Advancement.

Last edited by Gumbytie; July 30th, 2023 at 03:30 PM.
Gumbytie is online now   #4 Reply With Quote
CapedCrusader
Senior Member
Volunteer Data File Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,550

Old July 30th, 2023, 09:34 PM
That's the thing - in Deluxe it can be either way - A Skill or a separate item. Hence the difficulty, most of the code is written to work either way in Deluxe.

_
Currently In Development: Savage Pathfinder, SWADE Fantasy Companion
Future Development: SWADE Super Powers Companion, SWADE Sci-Fi Companion
_
Currently Running: Savage Unity Inc. (homebrew multiverse theme)
Setting Files Supported: Deadlands: Reloaded, Flash Gordon, Gaslight, Hellfrost, Interface Zero 2.0, Seven Worlds, Slipstream, Solomon Kane
Future Setting Files: Savage Judge Dredd
CapedCrusader is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.