Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Authoring Kit
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
barrelv
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 87

Old December 3rd, 2014, 12:12 PM
Need some directions here. Gizmos have been an experience in themselves, but I'm starting to make some headway - I think...

In this instance, to build magic items you have a housing (which uses an existing weapon or armor as the basis), then you add a power source that gives you a pool of points from which you can add runes to the item.

I've got a chooser_table to pick my power source, but I can't figure out how to get the value of the "power" field off of that pick and on to the entity so that I can then use it for the addpick value on the table_dynamic that handles the Runes...

ideas?
barrelv is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 3rd, 2014, 12:23 PM
I'd have the power source component bootstrap a "power points" resource. Then, you can just add to the resmax of that resource like you'd add to any other resource. Just in this case, use container.child[whatever] instead of hero.child[whatever], since you want a resource that's in the same container as you.
Mathias is online now   #2 Reply With Quote
barrelv
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 87

Old December 3rd, 2014, 12:33 PM
nevermind, found my problem. there's a space between .field and [resRunePlt]

Quote:
I did something wrong

Code:
    ~get the selected Capacitor item from the child and copy up some important
    ~fields
    perform state.clearfocus
    perform gizmo.findchild[Capacitor].setfocus
    if (state.isfocus <> 0) then
      container.child[resRunePlt] .field[resMax].value = focus.field[cpPower].value
getting the error "Invalid child transition syntax used"

Last edited by barrelv; December 3rd, 2014 at 12:38 PM.
barrelv is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 3rd, 2014, 12:45 PM
Why not put that script on the Capacitor component?

There, it'd be one line:

Code:
container.child[resRunePlt].field[resMax].value += field[cpPower].value
(I'd use +=, not = in case there's some modification that can be added that means you have more or fewer power points to spend).
Mathias is online now   #4 Reply With Quote
barrelv
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 87

Old December 3rd, 2014, 01:02 PM
any idea why my resource is ending up on the hero and not the entity?

Code:
<!-- An entity for custom mechanika armor -->
<entity
  id="MeckArm"
  form="ctmMckArm">
  <bootstrap thing="MeckArmor"/>
  <bootstrap thing="resRunePlt"/>
</entity>
barrelv is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,213

Old December 3rd, 2014, 01:48 PM
Check the enmasse entries in your bootstraps.1st file - is there something there that would add this resource to the character?

The one that comes to mind is that if you created this resource by copying another, it might still have the Helper.Bootstrap tag, which triggers one of the enmasse entries.
Mathias is online now   #6 Reply With Quote
barrelv
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 87

Old December 5th, 2014, 10:07 AM
The Helper tag was my culprit...

Thanks!
barrelv is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.