Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - d20 System

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Wolf_Larsen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22

Old April 7th, 2008, 08:02 PM
In the paper and pen version of D&D, you can assign different properties to each end of a double weapon (i.e. have a quarterstaff that has a +2 and icy burst on one end and +3 and acid burst to the other end). Is it just me, or can you not currently do the same in HL?
Wolf
Wolf_Larsen is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old April 18th, 2008, 12:23 PM
Wolf_Larsen wrote:
>
>
> In the paper and pen version of D&D, you can assign different properties
> to each end of a double weapon (i.e. have a quarterstaff that has a +2
> and icy burst on one end and +3 and acid burst to the other end). Is it
> just me, or can you not currently do the same in HL?


Hi,


The only reference I found to double weapons being special is this:


"Double weapons have separate magical bonuses for their different heads.
If randomly determined, the second head of a double weapon has the same
enhancement bonus as the main head (01-50 on d%), doubling the cost of
the bonus, or its enhancement bonus is one less (51-100) and it has no
special abilities. All magic weapons are masterwork weapons."


Within HL, I implemented this as the "Second head has same powers?"
checkbox - if checked, both heads have the same powers (and the weapon
cost doubles). Does it specify somewhere that you can configure both
ends independently?


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Mathias
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,587

Old April 18th, 2008, 12:58 PM
I interpret the first sentance of the paragraph in question to mean that enchanting each head is separate. The part about random determination is to simplify random magic item generation.

If it isn't in the rules that way, it's certainly an obvious house rule.
Mathias is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
huntercc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY (USA)
Posts: 213

Old April 19th, 2008, 05:22 AM
Actually mgehl is correct. I don't know about the SRD, but the DMG states that double weapons can have each head made of separate materials (such as darkwood, adamantium, etc) and/or carry separate enchantments. They use the example that a dire flail could have a +1 flaming head and a +3 disruption head. See pages 283 - 286 in the DMG.
huntercc is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
Colen
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,728

Old May 1st, 2008, 09:10 AM
huntercc wrote:
>
>
> Actually mgehl is correct. I don't know about the SRD, but the DMG
> states that double weapons can have each head made of separate materials
> (such as darkwood, adamantium, etc) and/or carry separate enchantments.
> They use the example that a dire flail could have a +1 flaming head and
> a +3 disruption head. See pages 283 - 286 in the DMG.


Yuck - looks like we're doing that wrong, then.


I'll look at this and see if I can get it resolved, but I think this is
going to take some work. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.


--
Colen McAlister, colen@wolflair.com
Chief Engineer, Lone Wolf Development
Colen is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.