Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - 4th Edition

Notices

sleepydm

Old January 14th, 2012, 03:58 PM
Disclaimer, not sure if this belongs in 4e section, as I'm new to the program and am not sure what a data file is.

Anyway, I've just received the program and when I tried to create a character, the class section was in red and there was nothing in the drop down menu. All I got was a pop-up box saying that there was nothing to choose from. Why is this, and how can I fix it? Is a DDI subscription required before I can make use of the character creator? For the record, 4e was the first package I've picked when the program offered a freebie.
sleepydm is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Aaron

Old January 14th, 2012, 10:31 PM
Yes, a DDI subscription is required.
Aaron is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
RavenX
Volunteer Data File Contributor

Old January 14th, 2012, 10:53 PM
You need a D&DI account to get all the data. You have to use the D&DI downloader provided with the data package for 4e to get the data for hero lab through the D&DI site. I think there is a free version that gets some of the data, but you'd have to run the downloader to find out for sure. I have not run mine in a year now.

Also the downloader for 4e will take a while. 6+ hours in some cases. Please be patient while the data downloads once you have the insider account taken care of.
RavenX is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
sleepydm

Old January 15th, 2012, 04:48 AM
All right, thanks. I'd like to "demo" the free stuff, if it's out there. How do I access the D&DI downloader?
sleepydm is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
royalfa

Old January 16th, 2012, 10:08 AM
Find your 4e Data Folder (in document and settings. The folder is "hidden")
And there is a ddidownloader execute archive.
royalfa is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Wordpoet

Old February 9th, 2012, 01:31 PM