Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Hero Lab Forums > HL - Shadowrun

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
mamastoast
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2

Old January 19th, 2021, 08:54 AM
Hi, my group is currently playing shadowrun for the first time and I'm having some questions with regards to the Control Actions spell. I'm used to DnD 5e where spells give very detailed mechanic explanations to how they work, so they lack of detail in this spell leaves me confused.


What I do know:
Assuming the spell hits, you are able to force the target to any action you'd like, aslong as you spend the own action yourself. So forcing the target to make an attack takes a major action from yourself.

Unlike control thoughts, this spell is obvious to the target being controlled and is almost certain to make them hostile.


What I don't know:
When does the target take the actions you make them take? On your turn? On their turn?

Does the target spend their own actions following your commands? And if you don't order them to do anything, do they act on their own or do they just stand around in a puppet-like state?

The spell takes a major action to cast, and to make the target do anything meaningful you'll need an additional action, which you most likely won't have untill your next turn, which leaves the spell seem pretty ineffective.. specially if the target can act normally on their turn.


The spell already seems significantly weaker than Control thoughts, so I'm kinda hoping the spell functions better than I suspect it might.
mamastoast is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Dami
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 819

Old January 19th, 2021, 08:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamastoast View Post
Hi, my group is currently playing shadowrun for the first time and I'm having some questions with regards to the Control Actions spell. I'm used to DnD 5e where spells give very detailed mechanic explanations to how they work, so they lack of detail in this spell leaves me confused.
I think the problem here is that the spell in the rulebook doesn't give any more information. HL can't include detail that wasn't already made available. Try a Shadowrun forum to see if anyone else has asked/answered this question. One of the Magic sourcebooks might give a bit more info on Manipulation spells too.

Personally: Since its a sustained spell, I'd assume the target acts on their turns. It's more powerful than Control Thoughts because you aren't influencing an action - you are making them do exactly what you want them to do.

Current RPG's: Pathfinder (GM), Pathfinder (Player), Gamma World (GM, Pathfinder homebrew).
HeroLab: 3.5 & Pathfinder. HL User Files for PF: Greyhawk Setting, Gamma World (WIP).

DM and player of D&D since 1980.

Last edited by Dami; January 19th, 2021 at 09:00 PM.
Dami is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.