Lone Wolf Development Forums  

Go Back   Lone Wolf Development Forums > Realm Works Forums > Realm Works Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Decrayer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 27

Old October 4th, 2015, 12:27 AM
Hi,

Today I have a game session and yesterday I noticed a strange behaviour. I updated my desktop client twice and yesterday I also updated my laptop RW client to 1.0.1040.200.

On my desktop, the login and sync works just fine. But on my laptop, on the login screen of realm works, it shows me the "Login Unavailable" warning and the password part is greyed out.

Luckily, I was able to use the backup function together with dropbox to sync my laptop for now. But I wanted to report that error.
Decrayer is offline   #1 Reply With Quote
Lexin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 200
Send a message via Skype™ to Lexin

Old October 4th, 2015, 03:17 AM
I get that from time to time. Closing the program and restarting it ususally sorts it out. I don't know what casuses it.

--
Lexin

GM from London - seriously old school - playing RPGs since 1980!

Tools: Realm Works, HeroLab, Campaign Cartographer 3+
Lexin is offline   #2 Reply With Quote
rob
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,953

Old October 4th, 2015, 03:42 AM
If you get "Login Unavailable", it means that an error of some sort occurred when attempting to contact the server at launch. I'm not sure why you'd get such an error if your internet connection is working correctly. Is it possible that you launched prior to enabling the wireless on your laptop? Or while the wireless was still in the process of establishing its connection to the outside world?

That's the most likely thing I can think of. I have it happen occasionally on MY laptop, and those explanations have always been the reason for me.

As @Lexin pointed out, you'll need to restart for Realm Works to re-establish contact with the server properly at launch.

Hope this helps!
rob is offline   #3 Reply With Quote
MaxSupernova
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 408

Old October 4th, 2015, 07:35 AM
Quote:
If you get "Login Unavailable", it means that an error of some sort occurred when attempting to contact the server at launch.
[...]
Is it possible that you launched prior to enabling the wireless on your laptop? Or while the wireless was still in the process of establishing its connection to the outside world?
[...]
You'll need to restart for Realm Works to re-establish contact with the server properly at launch.
That'd be a great thing to have as the actual error message rather than "login unavailable".

Just sayin'...
MaxSupernova is offline   #4 Reply With Quote
davidp
Senior Member
Lone Wolf Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,105

Old October 4th, 2015, 08:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxSupernova View Post
That'd be a great thing to have as the actual error message rather than "login unavailable".

Just sayin'...
"Login unavailable" comes from one cause only: Realm Works was unable to properly contact the server when starting up.

Please check that you don't have any firewall preventing communication from Realm Works to our server. You can also check connectivity from your computer to our servers by going to this URL from a web browser:

https://service.realmworks.net/Basic_Service.svc

It should show a page that starts out with "Service" followed by "This is a Windows© Communication Foundation service." If you don't get a page that has that text first, it indicates some sort of routing problem between your computer and our servers. It would probably be best to contact your ISP fur further assistance as it could be a misconfiguration on their end causing problems (we have seen issues where ISP's have routing errors preventing access to our servers for some reason).

Thanks,

David
davidp is offline   #5 Reply With Quote
Decrayer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 27

Old October 4th, 2015, 10:13 PM
Ok, so now today all of a sudden it works again.

But on Sunday, I tried the follwing:

Checking internet connection - Dropbox did sync and I was able to browse on the internet, so that was not the problem.

Closed and reopened a couple of times - no change

Reinstalled RW - no change.


Yea, but anyway, now it's working again. Don't really know why, I changed nothing on my laptop.

Last edited by Decrayer; October 8th, 2015 at 12:14 AM. Reason: spelling
Decrayer is offline   #6 Reply With Quote
MaxSupernova
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 408

Old October 5th, 2015, 07:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidp View Post
"Login unavailable" comes from one cause only: Realm Works was unable to properly contact the server when starting up.

Please check that you don't have any firewall preventing communication from Realm Works to our server. You can also check connectivity from your computer to our servers by going to this URL from a web browser:

https://service.realmworks.net/Basic_Service.svc

It should show a page that starts out with "Service" followed by "This is a Windows© Communication Foundation service." If you don't get a page that has that text first, it indicates some sort of routing problem between your computer and our servers. It would probably be best to contact your ISP fur further assistance as it could be a misconfiguration on their end causing problems (we have seen issues where ISP's have routing errors preventing access to our servers for some reason).

Thanks,

David
I'm not sure I made my point clear. I wasn't asking for more information on the topic.

If there is a couple-of-sentence-long plain english easy description of what the actual problem is, why isn't that in the actual error message provided to users, rather than a vague "connection error" type message?

Users shouldn't have to search the forums to find the meaning of a basic error message with one cause and a simple set of tests to resolve it. Those should be available to the user when the message pops up.

How many support requests could be avoided if the error message clearly described the issue and laid out a few possible solutions?

The best kind of support is the kind you write once and never have to write again because users find it right at problem time.

Last edited by MaxSupernova; October 5th, 2015 at 07:28 AM.
MaxSupernova is offline   #7 Reply With Quote
AEIOU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,146

Old October 5th, 2015, 07:49 AM
+1 MaxSupernova -- The only way to make there error message more less useful would be to assign it a number or code instead.

It may not seem like much to create plain text error messages, but it's a huge thing for end users. Like doctor's washing their hands before interacting with patients, this should just be common sense programming. But it's not....
AEIOU is offline   #8 Reply With Quote
Farling
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 1,849

Old October 5th, 2015, 10:40 AM
The error message seems quite clear. The login is unavailable (it just isn't saying "because we can't contact the server").
Farling is online now   #9 Reply With Quote
Dark Lord Galen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 694

Old October 5th, 2015, 10:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farling View Post
The error message seems quite clear. The login is unavailable (it just isn't saying "because we can't contact the server").
Not to speak for AEIOU or anyone else... but I think what is being referred is it would be more clear than having an obtuse "login is unavailable" by having an error notice that tells the end user if its an internal Realmworks problem on the users end, a problem with the realm works server (on RW end... like server unavailable), or something external to realmworks altogether, akin to a 404 error that tells the end user the page they have just googled is no longer there.

Now the opposite side of the isle could say at what point would too many varied error "Codes" become cumbersome for the user and for the programmers at RW.....

D&D> Pre 1e White Box Edition, 1e, 2e, 3.5 Currently, Set in the World of Greyhawk (The first, longest running and Best Campaign Setting)
Software>Extensive use of all forms of MS Products, Visual Studio 2012, DAZ 3d, AutoCAD, Adobe Products.
Gaming Specific>Campaign Cartographer, D20 Pro Alpha & BattleGrounds Beta Tester, World Builder, Dungeon Crafter, LWD Hero Lab, Realm Works, Inkwell Ideas Citybuilder & Dungeon Builder, Auto-Realm, Dundjinni
Contributing Writer for TSR, WOC, & Canonfire

Last edited by Dark Lord Galen; October 5th, 2015 at 10:51 AM.
Dark Lord Galen is offline   #10 Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
wolflair.com copyright ©1998-2016 Lone Wolf Development, Inc. View our Privacy Policy here.